Schwarzer wins pick of Australian awards
© Getty Images

Goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer was the big winner at the 2010 Australian Football Awards ceremony in Sydney today.

The Fulham player took the Footballer of the Year title and the Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) Footballer of the Year award.

The FMA Australian International Player of the Year went to Everton midfielder Tim Cahill, as voted by the Australian football media.

The players were at a gala function to receive the awards ahead of Saturday's international friendly against FIFA World Cup™ quarter-finalists Paraguay in Sydney.

The PFA Harry Kewell Medal for the best young player was awarded to former Melbourne Victory goalkeeper Mitch Langerak, now with German Bundesliga club Borussia Dortmund, ahead of Adelaide United's Mathew Leckie and FC Utrecht's Tommy Oar.