Anderlecht cruise to 30th league title

Anderlecht won their 30th Belgian league title on Sunday thanks to a 2-1 away win at FC Bruges.

With four matches remaining in the Belgian first division play-offs Anderlecht have 49 points and an unassailable lead of 14 points over second placed FC Bruges who have 35.

Triumph for the club from the Belgian capital comes after two years of league domination by Standard Liege.

Anderlecht remain the most decorated club in Belgian football, both in domestic competition and in Europe, where they have won five trophies including the UEFA Cup in 1983.

League victory means Anderlecht will go into next season's Champions League at the third qualifying round, which precedes the competition's group stages.