Victory win A-League

Melbourne Victory edged Adelaide United on goals scored to claim the Australian A-League minor premiership title and book a place in next year's AFC Champions League.

Victory took top spot after the final weekend of the regular rounds after both teams finished level on 38 points after 21 games. Both teams had a plus-12 goal difference but Victory scored more eight goals than Adelaide, 39 to 31.

Adelaide, last year's AFC Champions League runners-up, had to beat the Central Coast Mariners by a two-goal margin but could only register a 1-0 win over the Mariners in Gosford on Sunday.

Aurelio Vidmar's Reds will now face Ernie Merrick's Victory side in the major semi-final, with Queensland Roar and the fourth-placed Mariners set to meet in the second semi-final.

First legs in both ties will take place between 6-8 February with the draw to decide venues to take place on Monday. Melbourne claimed top spot after a 2-0 win on Friday that ended Wellington Phoenix's late charge for fourth spot.

It is only the second time Melbourne will play in the finals but the last time they reached this stage they won the 2007 grand final after destroying Adelaide 6-0 in Melbourne. Brazilian Cristiano grabbed the late winner for Adelaide against the Mariners to grab second spot.

Queensland Roar, who will be looking to make up for last year's preliminary final disappointment, go into the business end of the season as the form team. Frank Farina's side have lost just twice since round 11 in November and beat Perth Glory 4-2 at home on Saturday.

In the weekend's other game, Sydney FC ended their dismal season on a high with a 4-0 win over fallen defending champions Newcastle Jets at Sydney Football Stadium. Wellington's former AFC Wimbledon striker Shane Smeltz finished with the season's Golden Boot as leading scorer with 12 goals.