A magnificent eleven

Everybody should be a part of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011™ – literally so, according to the organisers. To boost the event’s appeal to all layers of society and the broadest possible spectrum of age groups, a special women’s team headed by German Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel as “team coach" aims to boost awareness and passion for the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Germany. The team comprises eleven well-known female personalities, all of them role models in their fields.

The chief aim of the team, comprising Dunja Hayali, Monica Lierhaus, Ulrike Folkerts, Beatrice Weder di Mauro, Renan Demirkan, Shary Reeves, Magdalena Neuner, Maria Furtwangler, Franziska van Almsick, Britta Heidemann and Nena, is to use the occasion of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011 to make a significant contribution in socio-political areas such as integration and strengthening women’s rights around the world.

To access the portraits of the eleven team members, please click on the links in the right hand colum.