Follow us on
Canada 2015

Three Lionesses qualify for Canada 2015

England forward Lianne Sanderson celebrates after scoring against Wales
© Getty Images

England have qualified for the FIFA Women's World Cup for the fourth time in their history and become the second European nation, following Switzerland, to take their place at Canada 2015. 

The Three Lionesses beat Wales in Cardiff to maintain their perfect record in Group 6, and more importantly, secure their place in next summer's tournament. 

Mark Sampson's side, who had scored 38 goals and allowed just one going into the match, were assured of their place thanks to a barrage of first-half goals from Karen Carney, Eniola Aluko, Laura Bassett, and Lianne Sanderson.

The English can now look forward to competing against the game's best between 6 June and 5 July 2015. They join a group of already-qualified teams that includes Japan, the defending champion, Australia, China PR, Korea Republic, Thailand, and Switzerland.

As things stand, England seem likely to be followed by the likes of France, Norway, and Germany, who all hold commanding leads in their respective sections.

Recommended Stories

FIFA Women's World Cup™

Swiss history-makers qualify for Canada 2015

15 Jun 2014

FIFA Women's World Cup™

Canada 2015 official poster launched

10 Jul 2014

FIFA Women's World Cup™

Countdown to Canada 2015 begins

26 Jun 2013