Equatorial Guinea secured their maiden FIFA Women’s World Cup voyage after they beat South Africa 3-1 in the semi-finals of the CAF African Women’s Championships in Johannesburg, South Africa. They will be joined by Nigeria’s Super Falcons who qualified for their sixth finals with a 5-1 romping over Cameroon.

The two will now play in the final of the continental championships to determine the destination of the trophy on Sunday, 14 November. Equatorial Guinea are the reigning continental champions after they beat South Africa two years ago as hosts.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons were the first to book their ticket on Thursday. It was the skill of their prolific striker, Perpetua Nkwocha, who netted a hat-trick, that inspired the highly flying Super Falcons to victory over their Cameroonian counterparts. Nkwocha has been one of the success stories of the Falcons camp in this tournament and the striker has, so far, netted a whopping 10 goals – making her the top goalscorer of the tournament.

Hosts run out of steam
Equatorial Guinea laboured hard for their victory. It was in the second half of extra-time when, sensing fatigue from South African, they upped the tempo of the match to lethal effect. A brace from Equatorial Guinea striker Simpore Salimata and an own goal from South African defender Simphiwe Dludlu condemned the hosts to defeat. Banyana Banyana will also will rue the missed opportunities that could have swayed the game in their favour within the 90 minutes. However, Equatorial Guinea were more organised and proved themselves worthy of a place at the world’s premium women’s competition.

Recommended Stories

FIFA Women's World Cup™

Germans prevail against Matildas

29 Oct 2010

FIFA Women's World Cup™

African women primed for big stage

28 Oct 2010