التاريخ
فانكوفر هي مدينة في مقاطعة بريتيش كولومبيا الكندية وتقع قرب منبع نهر فريزر ومطلة على الممرات المائية لمضيق جورجيا ومسطح هواي ساوند المائي وخليج بورارد والروافد التي تصبّ فيها. وكانت فانكوفر لمئات السنوات مركزاً للتجارة والاستيطان.

يعود تاريخ وجود الشعوب في الجزء الجنوبي من المقاطعة إلى ما بين 8 آلاف إلى 10 آلاف سنة خلت عندما بدأت الأنهار الجليدية لحقبة العصر الجليدي الأخيرة بالاختفاء. والمنطقة التي تعرفها الشعوب الأولى باسم "سوله تيميكسو" تُظهر دليلاً أثرياً على استيطان موسمي (في موقع "جلينروز كانيري") قرب منبع نهر فريزر يعود تاريخها لتلك الفترة.

أول الأوروبيين الذين استكشفوا المنطقة كان الربان الأسباني خوسيه ماريا نارفايز عام 1791، والبحار البريطاني جورج فانكوفر عام 1792. لم يستقر الأوروبيون في المنطقة قبل مضي حوالي قرن من ذلك التاريخ عام 1862. نمت المدينة بسرعة بعد استكمال خط شركة السكك الحديدية الكندية الباسيفيكية القادم من شرق كندا، وهو ما سمح بإمكانية النقل غير المنقطع للأشخاص والبضائع بدءاً أواخر ثمانينات القرن التاسع عشر. ازداد عدد المستوطنين الصينيين بعد استكمال سكة القطار. وفي مرحلة لاحقة أصبح المهاجرون من الأوروبيين الذين يريدون التوجه غرباً، ومن ثم من كل أجزاء العالم مع تطور وسائل النقل الجوي.

لمحة عن المدينة
يبلغ عدد سكان منطقة فانكوفر الكبرى أكثر من مليونين بقليل، 43 في المئة منهم تعتبر الإنجليزية لغتهم الأولى. أما عدد سكان المدينة نفسها فيبلغ 578 ألف ينحدرون من 200 إثنية مختلفة. يتجلى التنوع الثقافي بأبهى صوره في المطاعم والمهرجانات والأحياء الفريدة الموجودة في المنطقة الجنوبية من المدينة.

فانكوفر مدينة حيوية ودولية تقدم لسكانها وزوارها الكثير من النشاطات. ويوجد فيها الكثير من الوجهات الثقافية ومراكز العرض. كما إن حياة الليل وخيارات التسوق متنوعة بشكل كبير. ومن أبرز معالمها حديقة ستانلي بارك التي تمتد على مساحة 400 هكتار. وبفضل طبيعة المدينة، تحولت إلى نقطة جذب لمحبي الركض وركوب الدراجات الهوائية وتسلق الجبال والزوارق المائية ومراقبة الحيتان وغيرها الكثير.

المعالم
- حديقة فانكوفر المائية ـ فرصة للتعرف على الحياة تحت البحار عن كثب وملاقاة الحيتان. 
- جسر كابيلانو المعلق ـ يرتفع هذا الجسر البديع 70 متراً عن نهر كابيلانو وهو عبارة عن شبكة من الممرات المعلقة فوق الغابات. 
- جبل جروز ـ لمشاهد بانورامية مطلة على مدينة فانوفر، مع عربة ترتفع لمسافة 1100.
- صالة فانوفر للفنون ـ في قبل مركز المدينة، تضمّ أكثر 7900 عملاً لفنانين محليين ودوليين تزيد قيمتها عن 100 مليون دولار.
- مركز الفنون ـ خيارات الفنون في فانوفر لا تنتهي، من العروض الفكاهية الحديثة وصولاً إلى المطاعم التي تجمع بين المذاق الشهي وفن المسرح، إلى جانب عروض برودواي الشهيرة، ومسرحيات شكسبير التي يتم عرضها على الشاطئ في الصيف، بالإضافة إلى أمسيات رائعة تقدمها أوركسترا فانكوفر السيمفونية، وأوبرا فانوفر، وفرقة بريتيش كولومبيا للباليه.
- حياة الليل ـ تزخر فانوفر بالحانات والمطاعم والنوادي التي تقدم خليطاً متنوعاً من الأنواع الموسيقية. يوجد أهمها في الفنادق الواقعة في مركز المدينة. ومن السهل إيجاد مكان يقدم موسيقى حية لرواده في هذه المدينة الساحرة.
- التسوق: يوجد الكثير من المتاجر في شوارع المدينة، بالإضافة إلى متاجر أثرية في شارع جرانفيل، إلى جانب فروع لأرقى دور الأزياء والسلاسل العالمية في شارع روبسون. لا بدّ أيضاً من زيارة جزيرة جرانفيل ـ التي يوجد فيها الكثير من محترفات الفنانين المحليين. ويوجد في منطقة جازتاون الكثير من المتاجر التي تعرض فن الشعوب الأصلية وحرفها، إلى جانب الهدايا التذكارية والمجوهرات.
- الحي الصيني ـ يوجد في فانوفر ثالث أكبر حي صيني في أمريكا الشمالية بعد سان فرانسيسكو ونيويورك. والحي، الذي يقع شرق المدينة، يشتهر بحديقة الدكتور سون ياس سين التقليدية.
- ذا درايف ـ أو المنطقة المشهورة باسم "إيطاليا الصغيرة"، هي منطقة تجارية استقر فيها على مدى عقود من الزمن الكثير من المهاجرين الأوروبيين وبخاصة الإيطاليين واليونانيين والبرتغاليين. تزخر المنطقة بالمطاعم والحانات والمقاهي المميزة. تتواجد أيضاً المطاعم التي تقدم المأكولات المحلية التقليدية بقرب متاجر التسجيلات الموسيقية الحديثة والمقاهي الإيطالية الكلاسيكية.

كرة القدم
"بي سي بليس" هي المنشأة الرياضية الأكبر في مقاطعة بريتيش كولومبيا وتستقبل فعاليات متنوعة أيضاً، وتضم أحد أفضل ملاعب كرة القدم الكندية. وتقع المنشأة في قلب حي الترفيه في المدينة واستضافت في فعالياتها المختلفة أكثر من 27 مليون شخص. وعلى مدى السنوات الأخيرة، جرى فيها طيف متنوع من الاحتفاليات والمناسبات كحفل افتتاح دورة الألعاب الأولمبية الشتوية عام 2010. ويستقر في الملعب حالياً فريق وايتكابس إف سي الذي يخوض دوري أمريكا الشمالية لكرة القدم (أمريكا وكندا)، بالإضافة إلى فريق "بي سي لايونز"، وقاعة الشرف الرياضية.  

تم افتتاح هذه المنشأة مجدداً عام 2011 بعد عملية تجديد كلّفت 563 مليون دولار، بما فيها تحديثات خاصة بكرة القدم، وتركيب سقف قابل للفتح هو الأول من نوعه في العالم.

مباريات

التغيير إلى وقتك

History
Vancouver is a city in British Columbia, Canada. With its location near the mouth of the Fraser River and on the waterways of the Strait of Georgia, Howe Sound, Burrard Inlet, and their tributaries, Vancouver has, for thousands of years, been a place of meeting, trade and settlement.

The presence of people in what is now called the Lower Mainland of British Columbia dates from 8,000 to 10,000 years ago when the glaciers of the last ice age began to disappear. The area, known to the First Nations as S'ólh Téméxw, shows archeological evidence of a seasonal encampment ("the Glenrose Cannery site") near the mouth of the Fraser River that dates from that time.

The first Europeans to explore the area were Spanish Captain José María Narváez in 1791, and British naval Captain George Vancouver in 1792. The area was not settled by Europeans until almost a century later, in 1862. The city grew rapidly following completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) transcontinental line from Eastern Canada, allowing for continuous rail service in the late 1880s. Chinese settlers were increasingly a presence in the area following completion of the CPR. Subsequent waves of immigration were initially of Europeans moving west, and later, with the advent of global air travel, from Asia and many other parts of the world.

Portrait
The population of Metro Vancouver is just over two million of which 43 per cent have a first language other than English. The population of downtown Vancouver is 578,000 comprised of over 200 different ethnic origins. Multiculturalism is threaded throughout the region in the restaurants, festivals, and these unique neighbourhoods that make up the lower mainland area.

Vancouver is a dynamic, international city that offers an unprecedented range of activities and experiences. There are many cultural attractions and performing arts for visitors to partake in. Vancouver too offers many shopping and nightlife options. Nature too can be found nearby with the 400 hectare (1000 acre) Stanley Park. Vancouver’s location means that hiking, biking, rock climbing, kayaking, whale watching are just a few of the many outdoor activities you can experience directly from your doorstep.

Sights
* Vancouver Aquarium - behind the scene encounters with beluga whales and sea otters.

* Capilano Suspension Bridge - 70 metres above the Capilano River is a network of suspended walkways called Treetops Adventure.

* Grose Mountain - For panoramic views of Vancouver, the gondola to the top of Grouse Mountain climbs 1,100 metres.

* Vancouver Art Gallery - in the heart of downtown the gallery features more than 7,900 works from local and international artists valued at over $100 million.

* Performing Arts - Vancouver offers everything from innovative comedy and dinner theatre, Broadway extravaganzas, to Shakespeare on the beach in the summer, as well as brilliant performances by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, the Vancouver Opera and Ballet British Columbia.

* Nightlife - The late-night scene in Vancouver is a thriving mix of lounges, laid-back pubs and energetic music venues. Some of the “hippest” lounges are found in many of the downtown hotels. Live music is never hard to find in Vancouver.

* Shopping - Concentrated street shopping - antique shops on Granville Street, outdoor gear on Broadway & high-end boutiques on Robson Street. Granville Island – home to many local artisan studios. Gastown, featuring galleries of First Nations art and craftworks, jewelry and souvenir T-shirts.

* Chinatown - Vancouver is home to the third-largest Chinatown in North America after those in San Francisco and New York. Located east of downtown, Chinatown is also home of the renowned Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden.

* The Drive - Nicknamed “Little Italy” or “The Drive”, Commercial Drive is where decades of European immigrants - especially Italians, Greeks and Portuguese – have created an eclectic offering of restaurants, coffee bars and exotic delis. Natural food eateries sit ‘shoulder to shoulder’ with reggae record stores, gelatterias, and the good-old Italian-style coffee bar.

Football
BC Place is British Columbia’s largest sports and events facility, and Canada’s premier soccer stadium. The world-class stadium has hosted over 27 million people right in the heart of Vancouver’s downtown entertainment district. Over the years, BC Place has hosted an incredible range of high profile events including the ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games. Today, BC Place is the home of Major League Soccer’s’ Vancouver Whitecaps FC, the Canadian Football League’s BC Lions, and the BC Sports Hall of Fame.
The new BC Place reopened in 2011 after an extensive $563million revitalization, including soccer-specific upgrades throughout the stadium, and the installation of the largest cable-supported retractable roof of its kind in the world.