التاريخ
طيلة حوالي 4000 عام، قام سكان كندا الأصليون بزيارة ما يُعرف الآن بمدينة إدمنتون ونصب الخيام خلال موسم الصيد. ويعود تاريخ مرور أوّل مستكشف في المنطقة إلى عام 1754. وقبيل نهاية ذلك القرن، أسست شركة "هودسون باي" مركزاً تجارياً في المنطقة أطلقت عليه اسم "إدمنتون باي". بدأت البلدة بالتوسع خارج حدود سور الحصن. ثم تم اعتبار إدمنتون مدينة عام 1905، وتحولت إلى عاصمة المقاطعة بعد ذلك بسنة. ازدهرت المدينة أوائل القرن وكذلك في السنوات التي تلت الحرب العالمية الثانية مستفيدة بشكل خاص من تطور قطاع الطاقة. ولا تزال الآن واحدة من أسرع مدن كندا نمواً.

الحاضر
بينما يعتبر أكثر من مليون شخص "إدمنتون الكبرى" موطناً لهم، إلا أنها لم تفقد طابع البلدة الصغيرة وروح الألفة والضيافة الغربية التي اشتُهرت بها. وبفضل الاقتصاد المتنامي وترحيبها بالزوار والجمال الطبيعي، تستقطب المدينة الكثير من المقيمين الجدد من كافة أنحاء العالم. وتشارك حالياً أكثر من 60 إثنية في "مهرجان التراث" السنوي الذي تنظمه المدينة والذي يمتد لأربعة أيام ويحتفي بالتنوع الثقافي.

تعتبر إدمنتون مدينة رياضية وثقافية بامتياز بفضل دعم وسخاء حكومة المقاطعة. كما تنظم المدينة أكثر من 30 مهرجاناً كبيراً على مدى أشهر السنة، وتتنوع بين الموسيقى والفن والمسرح والرقص وفنون الأداء والطهي، بالإضافة إلى مهرجان الموسيقى الفولوكلورية ومهرجانات الشوارع وغيرها. كما يعج حي الفنون في إدمنتون بالعروض الترفيهية والسيمفونية والمسارح، إلى جانب دار ألبرتا للفنون الشهير بطرازه المعماري المذهل.

تضمّ "إدمنتون الكبرى" 11 مؤسسة للتعليم ما بعد الثانوي، أهمها جامعة ألبرتا بحرمها الذي يعتبر الثاني من حيث المساحة، وثالث أكبر مؤسسة للمرحلة التعليمية ما بعد الثانوية من حيث العائدات الإجمالية حيث تعتبر وجهة لأكثر من 35 ألف طالب بدوام كامل وجزئي. ومن المؤسسات الهامة الأخرى جامعة ماك إيوان ومعهد ألبرتا الشمالية للتكنولوجيا.

تستثمر مقاطعة ألبرتا أيضاً أكبر نسبة من الأموال على الطلاب بين مرحلة الحضانة والصف الثاني عشر من أي مقاطعة أخرى، بينما تعتبر مدارس إدمنتون العامة الأفضل من حيث الإدارة والابتكار في أمريكا الشمالية.

المعالم
تعتبر حديقة "نورث ساسكاتشيوان ريفر فالي" الأكبر داخل المدن في أمريكا الشمالية، حيث تبلغ مساحتها 22 ضعف مساحة حديقة نيويورك سيتي المركزية. وممراتها الممتدة على مسافة 150 كيلومتراً مثالية للسير والركض والتنزه وركوب الدراجات وغيرها الكثير من الأنشطة.
- مركز "وست إدمنتون" هو المركز التجاري والترفيهي الأكبر في أمريكا الشمالية، حيث يضمّ أكثر من 800 متجر، و100 وجهة لتناول الطعام و10 وجهات تستحق الزيارة.
- "فورت إدمنتون بارك" هو متحف التاريخ الحي الأكبر من نوعه في كندا، ويضم أكثر من 70 بناءً تاريخياً تم فيه تصوير جانب من فيلم النجم براد بيت "اغتيال جيسّي جيمس".
- "أولد ستراثكونا" هي منطقة تاريخية تابعة للمقاطعة فيها أسواق محلية تتفتح أبوابها طوال العام للمزارعين، بالإضافة إلى ثماني شركات مسرحية وحياة ليل صاخبة، إلى جانب كونها واحدة من أشهر خمس وجهات للتسوّق في كندا.
- تقع "دار ألبرتا للفنون" في قلب منطقة الفنون وتستضيف معارض دولية وتضمّ أكثر من 6 آلاف تحفة فنية، وقد تم استلهام التصميم المعماري للمبنى من "أضواء الشمال"والوادي البديع لنهر المدينة.  
- يوجد في "الحديقة الوطنية لجزيرة إلك" أكبر تجمع للثدييات ذات الحوافر في الكيلومتر المربع الواحد من أية منطقة برية أخرى في العالم، باستثناء سهول سيرينجيتي الأفريقية.

كرة القدم
ليست إدمنتون بعيدة عن كرة القدم العالمية. حيث استضافت كأس العالم تحت 20 سنة كندا FIFA 2007 وحضر المباريات في المدينة أكثر من 240 ألف متفرج. كما توافد ما يقارب خمسين ألفاً في النهائي التاريخي الذي جمع بين كندا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في كأس العالم للسيدات تحت 19 سنة كندا FIFA 2002، وهو ما يزال الرقم القياسي للجمهور في أي من بطولات الشابات التي ينظمها FIFA.

يُعرف أبناء إدمنتون بشغف كرة القدم على المدرجات وأرض الملعب. حيث تشير الإحصائية الأحدث إلى أنه يوجد في المدينة 26 نادياً وحوالي 27 ألف لاعباً مسجلاً. وشهدت سنة 2011 إطلاق نادي "إف سي إدمنتون" الذي يتنافس مع أندية من أمريكا وبورتو ريكو في ثاني دوري أمريكي من حيث الأهمية.

History
For some 4,000 years, Canada’s First Nations people have visited and camped on the site of present-day Edmonton as part of their seasonal round of hunting. The first European explorer passed near the site in 1754. Near the end of that century, the Hudson’s Bay Company established a trading post called Edmonton House. Slowly, a town began to grow outside the fort’s walls. Edmonton was incorporated as a City in 1905 and was named the new provincial capital the following year. The city boomed early in the century and again in the post war years fuelled by growth in the energy sector. It continues today as one of Canada’s fastest growing cities.

Portrait
While more than a million people now call Greater Edmonton home, it has lost none of the small-town friendliness and western hospitality for which it has always been famous. Together with a growing economy, Edmonton’s welcoming atmosphere and natural beauty have attracted newcomers from all over the world. Today, more than 60 ethnic backgrounds are represented at Edmonton’s annual Heritage Festival, a four-day celebration of cultural diversity.

Edmonton is a great sports and cultural city thanks to the support and generous encouragement of our Provincial Government. It is one of more than 30 major festivals that keep the city humming year-round, as music, art, theatre, dance, performance and culinary art take turns at centre stage, including the internationally renowned Folk Music, Fringe Theatre and Street Performers Festivals. Edmonton’s arts district brims with live entertainment, theatre, symphony and the architecturally stunning Art Gallery of Alberta.

Eleven major post-secondary institutions can be found in Greater Edmonton, the flagship institution being the University of Alberta, Canada’s second-largest university campus and third-largest post-secondary institution by gross revenue and home to more than 35,000 full and part-time students. Other major institutions include MacEwan University and the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT).

Alberta also invests more per student in the kindergarten to Grade 12 learning system than any other province, while Edmonton Public Schools has been recognised as the best-managed and most innovative school board in North America.

Sights
- North Saskatchewan River Valley is North America’s largest urban parkland, 22 times the size of New York City’s Central Park. Its 150 km of trails are ideal for walking, biking, picnicing, Segway rides, and more.

- West Edmonton Mall is North America’s largest entertainment and shopping centre, with over 800 stores, 100 eating establishments and ten attractions.

- Fort Edmonton Park is Canada’s largest living history museum, featuring more than 70 period buildings and was the setting for Brad Pitt’s Assassination of Jesse James.

- Old Strathcona is a provincial historic area with a year-round farmers’ market, eight theatre companies and a lively nightlife scene, as well as one of Canada’s top five shopping districts.

- Art Gallery of Alberta is in the heart of Edmonton’s arts district. Hosting international exhibits and housing 6,000 permanent pieces of art, the building’s design was inspired by the Northern Lights and the city’s undulating magnificent river valley.

- Elk Island National Park has a higher density of hoofed mammals per square kilometre than any other wild area in the world, with the exception of Africa’s Serengeti Plains.

Football
Edmonton is no stranger to international football. Playing host to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007, Edmonton matches drew a total of more than 240,000 fans. Close to 50,000 attended the memorable Canada-USA final at the FIFA U-19 Women’s World Championship Canada 2002 – still the largest crowd ever for a FIFA women’s youth match.

Edmontonians continue to embrace football in a big way, in the seats and on the pitch. At last count, the city had 26 clubs and almost 27,000 registered players. After a near-ten-year hiatus, professional soccer made its triumphant return to Edmonton as 2011 marked the inaugural year for FC Edmonton. Playing in the North American Soccer League, FC Edmonton competes against teams from across Canada and the US.

Matches

Change to your time
06 Jun 2015 - 16:00 Local time
06 Jun 2015
Match 1
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Group A
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
06Jun
Canada
CanadaCAN
China PR
China PRCHN
16:00
06 Jun 2015 - 19:00 Local time
06 Jun 2015
Match 2
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Group A
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
06Jun
New Zealand
New ZealandNZL
Netherlands
NetherlandsNED
19:00
11 Jun 2015 - 16:00 Local time
11 Jun 2015
Match 14
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Group A
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
11Jun
China PR
China PRCHN
Netherlands
NetherlandsNED
16:00
11 Jun 2015 - 19:00 Local time
11 Jun 2015
Match 13
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Group A
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
11Jun
Canada
CanadaCAN
New Zealand
New ZealandNZL
19:00
16 Jun 2015 - 15:00 Local time
16 Jun 2015
Match 30
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Group C
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
16Jun
Switzerland
SwitzerlandSUI
Cameroon
CameroonCMR
15:00
16 Jun 2015 - 18:00 Local time
16 Jun 2015
Match 32
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Group D
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
16Jun
Australia
AustraliaAUS
Sweden
SwedenSWE
18:00
20 Jun 2015 - 17:30 Local time
20 Jun 2015
Match 37
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Round of 16
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
20Jun
[2A][2A]
[2C][2C]
17:30
22 Jun 2015 - 18:00 Local time
22 Jun 2015
Match 38
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Round of 16
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
22Jun
[1D][1D]
[3BEF][3BEF]
18:00
27 Jun 2015 - 14:00 Local time
27 Jun 2015
Match 47
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Quarter-finals
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
27Jun
[W41][W41]
[W42][W42]
14:00
01 Jul 2015 - 17:00 Local time
01 Jul 2015
Match 50
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Semi-finals
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
01Jul
[W47][W47]
[W48][W48]
17:00
04 Jul 2015 - 14:00 Local time
04 Jul 2015
Match 51
FIFA Women's World Cup Final
Match for third place
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton
04Jul
[L49][L49]
[L50][L50]
14:00