التاريخ
تقع وينيبيج في مفترق طرق بين نهري ريد وأسينيبوان، أي في المنتصف الجغرافي لأمريكا الشمالية. وبينما تواجد في المنطقة مراكز لتجارة الفرو منذ عام 1738، فإن أول استيطان دائم كان عام 1812 عندما وصلت للمنطقة مجموعة من المزارعين الاسكتلنديين. أصبحت وينيبيج مدينة عام 1873 بعدد سكان بلغ 1869 نسمة فقط. أدى وصول قطارات "شركة كندا للسكك الحديدية الباسيفيكية" عام 1885 إلى انطلاق فترة نمو وازدهار في المدينة استمرت 30 سنة لم تشهد المناطق الحضرية في كندا مثيلاً لها.

أدى تدفق المهاجرين وارتفاع أسعار القمح وتوافر رأس المال وتحسن تقنيات الزراعة في تحويل وينيبيج لمركز لتجارة الجملة ومركز إداري ومالي لغرب كندا. ثم استمرت فترة الركود التي تلت الحرب العالمية الأولى ـ نتيجة أسعار القمح المنخفضة والكساد الاقتصادي ـ حتى أربعينات القرن الماضي.

بدءاً من عام 1945، نمت وينيبيج بشكل مضطرد بفضل موقعها كمركز للحبوب والنقل ومركز مالي وصناعي. وتعتبر الآن ثامن أكبر مدينة في كندا وتهيمن على اقتصاد مقاطعة مانيتوبا.

لمحة عن المدينة
تعتبر مدينة وينيبيج العاصمة الحيوية لمقاطعة مانيتوبا، وتقع في مركز كندا وأمريكا الشمالية. وبعدد سكان متنوعين ثقافياً يزيد عن 778 ألف نسمة، تحولت المدينة إلى حاضرة عالمية بروح معاصرة ترحب بجميع الزوار والوافدين.

والمدينة، التي توصف بأنها "المهد الثقافي لكندا" توفر الكثير من الخيارات في مجال الفنون والثقافة والرياضة والتسلية والترفيه لكل الأذواق وكافة الأعمار. فهي مدينة مبدعة طوال أشهر العام تحتفي بالثقافة الغنية من خلال الكثير من المواقع التاريخية والمعارض والوجهات الفريدة والمهرجانات الممتدة على أشهر السنة. فالفرص بانتظار الجميع طوال العام للانخراط في المهرجانات المتنوعة للمدينة. بدءاً من مهرجان الموسيقى الفولكلورية في الهواء الطلق والفريد من نوعه، وصولاً إلى خيارات كثيرة للتسلية في مجالات الموسيقى والمسرح والمطاعم وغيرها الكثير، تتحول وينيبيج إلى وجهة لا بدّ من زيارتها.

ومن حي المال والأعمال الشهير بالطراز المعماري لأبنيته، وصولاً إلى الحي الفرنسي الساحر والجادة القديمة المعروفة باسم "ذا فوركس"، أصبحت وينيبيج واحة ثقافية تجمع بين الماضي والحاضر والمستقبل. تحفل المدينة بالكثير من الأماكن التي يجب زيارتها والنشاطات التي يتعين القيام بها سواء كان ذلك في مجال التسوق أو المناطق الساحرة والكازينوهات الفاخرة وحياة الليل الصاخبة والحدائق الغنّاء وغيرها الكثير. 

يوجد في وينيبيج أيضاً مجموعة كبيرة من الجامعات، مثل جامعة وينيبيج وجامعة مانيتوبا وكلية ريد ريفر وكلية سانت بونيفيس.

تزخر المدينة بمنشآت الترفيه والتسلية والرياضة. حيث يوجد في وينيبيج 40 ملعباً كرة قدم، و26 مضماراً للجولف، و24 ملعب كيرلينج، و30 ملعب هوكي مغلق، والكثير من الكازينوهات وحلبات السباق. كما تعتبر وينيبيج موطناً لفرق محترفة في الهوكي وكرة القدم وكرة السلة والفنون الاستعراضية.

كما تفخر المدينة بمطارها الذي يعتبر الوحيد في غرب كندا الذي يعمل على مدى 24 ساعة، ويبعد 15 دقيقة عن مركز المدينة.

المعالم
في كل ركن وزاوية من وينيبيج هناك حكاية. فلتتعرف على أسرار الماسونيين، توجه إلى "هيرميتيك كود تاور" في مبنى الجهاز التشريعي لمقاطعة مانيتوبا، أو قم بجولة عبر الحافلة على أبرز معالم المدينة. أما إذا كنت من محبي المشي، فإن الجولات مع دليل على أهم معالم وينيبيج تجعلك تدخل إلى روح المكان، بالإضافة إلى الجولات النهرية في القارب مع مرشد سياحي.

توفر المدينة فرصاً لا تعدّ ولا تُحصى للتعرف على الطبيعة الخلابة للمدينة وعيش سحر المكان على مدى السنة. يوجد في وينيبيج عدد من الحدائق الغنّاء والغابات الرائعة، مثل حديقة أسينيبوان التي تضم حديقة حيوان أيضاً، وحديقة كيلدونان، وموقع "ذا فوركس" للتاريخ الطبيعي.

- "ذا فوركس" يوجد عند تقاطع بين نهري ريد وأسينيبوان، ويوجد فيه حديقة بديعة تمتد على مساحة 9 هكتارات، وساحة جميلة مع نافورة، وفضاء مفتوح للفنون الاستعراضية، وفناء كبير للتجمع، والكثير من الوجهات للتسوق وتناول الطعام.
- حصن جبرالتار هو نسخة جديدة من مقر شركة "نورث ويست" للتجارة من عام 1815 والواقعة في الحي الفرنسي. يضم الحصن متجراً للذهب وبيع التجزئة، مع إمكانية القيام بجولات مع مرشدين سياحيين.
- حديقة أسينيبوان تعتبر جوهرة تاج وينيبيج ووجهة هامة لتجمع الناس منذ أكثر من 100 سنة. دخلت الحديقة الآن مرحلة جديدة من عمرها، حيث تم ضخ استثمارات بقيمة 200 مليون دولار فيها وفي حديقة الحيوان التابعة لها. يوجد اليوم داخل الحديقة، مجموعة من المنشآت الجديدة مثل مركز كواليكو العائلي وملعب الأطفال الطبيعي. وداخل حديقة أسينيبوان للحيوانات، يوجد مركز دولي لحماية الدب القطبي، وهي نقطة مؤقتة مخصصة للدببة القطبية التي يتم إنقاذها، مع مركز لإرشاد الزوار.   
- متحف الأطفال الذي يخضع الآن لعملية ترميم بكلفة 10 ملايين دولار، و12 صالة جديدة ممتعة.
- صالة وينيبيج للفنون وهي الأقدم للفنون المدنية في كندا، حيث تحتفل بعيد ميلادها المئة بدءاً من سبتمبر/أيلول المقبل.
- حي التبادل التجاري هو موقع للتاريخ الوطني ويسود فيه الطراز المعماري الخاص بتشيكاجو مع المتاجر والمطاعم التقليدية، وأروقة الفنون.
- يوجد تسع صالات فنية دائمة في متحف مانيتوبا. وبإمكان رواد المتحف التجوّل على متن سفينة مشابهة لأخرى يعود تاريخها للقرن السابع عشر. أما صالة "ذا نون ساتش" فتعود بزوار المتحف إلى المدينة بالشكل الذي كانت عليه في عشرينات القرن الماضي؛ وصالة أخرى تقدم عرضاً رقمياً لعالم ما تحت البحار منذ 450 مليون سنة وحتى الآن عبر شاشات عملاقة تقدم كنوز البحار. وفي الطابق الأرضي من المتحف، تدعو صالة "بلانيتاريوم" العائلات لتأمل السماء في الليل أو الإبحار في عالم الفضاء الشاسع؛ بينما يوجد في صالة العلوم أكثر من 100 معرض يستكشف مختلف العلوم وفروع المعرفة.

كرة القدم    
استضافت وينيبيج عدداً من بطولات كرة القدم الدولية، ومن بينها مباريات في تصفيات كأس العالم FIFA، ومباريات ودية وخيرية لمنتخبي الرجال والسيدات الوطنيين. احتضنت المدينة أيضاً دورة ألعاب الأمريكيتين عامي 1967 و1999، التي تضم منافسات لكرة القدم لفئتي الرجال والسيدات من مختلف الدول في الأمريكيتين.

تشكل المستديرة الساحرة جزءاً من نسيج المجتمع المحلي حيث ينتمي اللاعبون المحليون إلى خلفيات متنوعة من كافة دول العالم، بينما تتمتع اللعبة بشعبية كبيرة. يوجد في المدينة أكثر من 250 نادياً واتحاداً كروياً محلياً، تشمل أكثر من 16300 لاعباً ولاعبة مسجلين رسمياً.

Winnipeg
© LOC

History
Winnipeg is located at the junction of the Red and Assiniboine Rivers, almost at the geographic centre of North America. While there have been fur trading posts on the site since 1738, the first permanent settlement of the area took place in 1812 when a group of Scottish crofters arrived. Winnipeg was incorporated as a city in 1873 with a population of 1,869 people. The arrival of the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1885 stimulated a 30-year period of growth and prosperity unequalled in Canadian urban development.

A flood of immigrants, high wheat prices, plentiful capital and improved farming techniques contributed to making Winnipeg the wholesale, administrative, and financial centre of Western Canada. Following World War I, economic stagnation - due to low wheat prices and the Depression - lasted well into the 1940s.

Since 1945, Winnipeg has grown steadily based on its position as a major grain, financial, manufacturing, and transportation centre. It is the eighth largest city in Canada and dominates the Manitoba economy.

Portrait
Winnipeg is Manitoba’s vibrant capital city, located at the centre of Canada and North America. With a population of more than 778,000 culturally diverse people, the city has a cosmopolitan, international flair and a warm, welcoming spirit.

Described as the “cultural cradle of Canada,” Winnipeg offers a variety of arts, culture, sports, recreation and entertainment to satisfy every taste. It’s a creative, four-season city that celebrates its rich culture through many historic sites, exhibits, attractions and yearly festivals. There are opportunities year round to get swept up in the excitement at Winnipeg’s many festivals. Whether kicking back outdoors to live folk music at the Winnipeg Folk Festival or watching cutting-edge theatre at the Winnipeg Fringe Festival, there are plenty of ways to discover something new. Winnipeg’s dynamic festivals highlight live music, theatre, multicultural eats and more.

From the architecturally distinctive Exchange District to the joie de vivre of Winnipeg’s French Quarter, to the heart of our past at The Forks, Winnipeg is a striking blend of old and new, traditional and avant-garde - a cultural oasis without pretension. Take advantage of our great shopping, spectacular attractions, exciting casinos, vibrant nightlife, and serene parks and nature walks.

Winnipeg is home to a great array of universities, including the University of Winnipeg, the University of Manitoba, Red River College and Universite de Saint Boniface.

Winnipeg has a tremendous amount of recreation, sports and entertainment for a city of its size. Our city has 40 soccer (football) pitches, 26 golf courses, 24 curling rinks, 30 indoor hockey arenas, casinos, a race track, professional teams in hockey, football and baseball, and world-renowned performing arts.

Winnipeg has the only 24-hour airport in Western Canada, located just 15 minutes from downtown.

Must-visit sights
Winnipeg is a city with a story to tell at just about every street corner. Discover ancient Masonic mysteries with a Hermetic Code Tour at the Manitoba Legislative Building or get spooked on a bus tour of Winnipeg’s most haunted spots. One of the best ways to explore and discover the city is through the many historical guided walking tours, river boat excursions and interpretive tours.

Opportunities abound to experience the great outdoors and wonders of nature in Winnipeg throughout the year. The city has several breathtaking parks and urban forests, such as Assiniboine Park and Zoo, Kildonan Park and The Forks National Historic Site.

- The Forks is found at the junction of the Red and Assiniboine rivers, featuring a nine-acre park; a plaza with fountains, open performance spaces, patios; a world-class skateboard park, and an array of shops and dining.

- The world-class Canadian Museum for Human Rights (CMHR) will be more than just a building when it opens in 2014 at The Forks. This iconic facility is an “idea” museum dedicated to the past, present and future of human rights, as it explores its evolution in Canada and abroad through dialogue, technology and interactive experiences. A must-see for all, visitors will be captivated by the stories heard and encouraged to participate in discussion, offering an unforgettable and moving experience.

- Fort Gibraltar is a re-creation of a North West Company trading post from 1815 located in Winnipeg’s French Quarter. A blacksmith shop, trading post and costumed interpreters bring the Fort to life.

- Assiniboine Park is one of North America's largest urban parks, serving as a lush and popular gathering space for more than 100 years. Today, the park is entering a new chapter of development - a $200 million investment into Assiniboine Park and the Assiniboine Park Zoo is underway. Within the park, hot new attractions include the Qualico Family Centre and the children’s Nature Playground. Inside the Assiniboine Park Zoo, construction continues on the new Journey to Churchill, set to become the world’s most comprehensive polar bear exhibit when it opens in 2014. Portions of the exhibit are open, including the International Polar Bear Conservation Centre—a transition centre for rescued polar bear cubs—along with Tundra Grill and Polar Playground.

- The Children’s Museum boasts a recent $10-million renovation with 12 exciting new galleries.

- The Winnipeg Art Gallery is Canada’s oldest civic art gallery and houses the world’s largest collection of contemporary Inuit art, some which is always on display

- The Exchange District is a National Historic Site home to gorgeous Chicago-style architecture, trendy boutiques and eateries, and art galleries.

- Nine permanent galleries can be found at The Manitoba Museum. Visitors can step aboard a full-size replica of the 17th century ship, 'The Nonsuch'; travel back in time to Winnipeg during the roaring 1920s; watch a digitally animated, 450-milllion-year-old underwater world brought to life on three jumbo-sized screens and view treasures from around the world. Located in the museum’s lower level, the Planetarium invites families to gaze at the night sky or journey into space, while the Science Gallery has more than 100 educational hands-on exhibits that explore scientific principles.

Football
Winnipeg has hosted a number of international soccer competitions, including Men’s FIFA World Cup qualification matches, men and women’s National Team exhibition matches.  Winnipeg was also host of the 1967 and 1999 Pan American Games, in which nations from the Americas participated in the male and female soccer competitions.

In 1986, Winnipeg hosted the first Canadian Women’s National Team camp, from which 16 players were selected for a series of international matches in USA. Four years later, Winnipeg hosted Canada’s first home Women’s International Friendly match.

Soccer is a huge part of the fabric of the community that includes many participants from around the world that enjoy playing and watching the beautiful game.  We have over 250 club/association members that comprise of over 16,300 registered players.