Follow us on

Flash claim inaugural crown

Western New York Flash celebrate their WPS regular season title win

Western New York have been crowned Women's Professional Soccer's (WPS) 2011 Regular Season Champions. In their debut season, the Rochester-based club also earned the right to host the WPS Championship at Sahlen's Stadium on 27 August.

Philadelphia Independence and the Flash took their battle for top spot to the final day of the regular season, separated by just three points in the standings. The upstate New York club earned a decisive 2-0 victory over the Atlanta Beat, which combined with a 2-1 defeat for the Independence at magicJack in Florida, saw the two teams separated by a six-point buffer.

Western New York’s all-star attack never looked liked being blunted by the bottom-side after Alex Morgan set-up Sweden skipper Caroline Seger for the opener eight minutes from the interval. Five-time FIFA World Player of the Year Marta doubled the lead in the second half after an assist from Canadian sharpshooter Christine Sinclair. Marta's goal meant the pair finished joint top-scorers during the regular season with ten goals apiece.

Meanwhile, the Independence's hopes of catching the Flash were dented by a double from magic Jack’s Lisa De Vanna, before Amy Rodriguez pulled a goal back with 11 minutes remaining. Both teams will be in the finals series, where they will be joined by Boston Breakers, who defeated Sky Blue FC 2-0, to edge past their opponents into the final remaining berth.

Recommended Stories

Women's Football

Lyon finally crowned European queens

27 May 2011