The past
Germany are perennial favourites to lift the trophy in this competition, having already been crowned champions on three previous occasions. Simone Laudehr and Melanie Behringer led their compatriots to victory at Thailand 2004 before becoming established members of Germany's senior women's side, with Alexandra Popp and Dzsenifer Marozsan making a similarly decisive contribution to a second title win on home soil six years later. Then at the 2014 edition in Canada, Lena Petermann’s extra-time strike in the final against Nigeria secured Germany's third world crown at this level.

The present
Coach Maren Meinert’s side reached the semi-finals of the UEFA European Women’s U-19 Championship 2015 in Israel thanks to a 1-0 win against Spain in their final group game, booking their ticket to the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Papua New Guinea 2016 in the process. Despite this achievement they were unable to reach the European final, losing 4-2 on penalties to eventual champions Sweden in the last four despite battling to a 3-3 draw after extra time. “We reached the semi-finals and so qualified for the U-20 World Cup next year, and that was our main goal,” Meinert later told her federation's official website. “We’re one of the best four U-19 teams in Europe. That’s a good result and one that we worked hard for. But there is definitely more to come.”

The future
Many of the players who lifted the trophy in 2014, including Sara Dabritz and Lena Petermann, have since become key members of the senior squad and featured at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™. As in previous years, the current squad is packed with talented youngsters such as Pauline Bremer, who was in the final World Cup squad in North America and made a brief substitute appearance there in the game against Norway. Moreover, she was recently presented with the Fritz Walter Medal as Germany’s best young player of the year.