FIFA Fair Play Award (maximum: 1000 pts)

BRAZIL / SPAINØ 886 pts5 / 4 matches

As part of its campaign to promote fair play, FIFA regularly holds a fair play contest during its competitions. This is based on an appraisal of the teams' conduct on and off the field by the members of the FIFA Technical Study Group.

Every match in the final competition is taken into account, but only teams that go to the second stage of the competition are eligible for the FIFA Fair Play Award.

Korea/Japan 2002: Belgium
France 1998: England / France
USA 1994: Brazil
Italy 1990: England
Mexico 1986: Brazil

adidas Golden Ball Award:

Zinedine Zidane2012 ptsadidas Golden Ball
Fabio Cannavaro1977 ptsadidas Silver Ball
Andrea Pirlo715 ptsadidas Bronze Ball

This award goes to the outstanding player of the competition, as voted by the media present at the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™.

2002: Oliver KAHN (GER)
1990: Salvatore SCHILLACI (ITA)
1986: Diego MARADONA (ARG)

adidas Golden Shoe Award:

adidas Golden ShoeMiroslav KLOSEGER #1151
adidas Silver ShoeHernan CRESPOARG #931305' played
adidas Bronze ShoeRONALDOBRA #931409' played

In keeping with tradition, adidas presents the Golden Shoe award to the tournament's top goalscorer. Assists serve as a tie-breaker if two or more players finish equal on goals scored.

2002: RONALDO (BRA), 8 goals
1998: Davor SUKER (CRO), 6 goals
1994: Hristo STOICHKOV (BUL), Oleg SALENKO (RUS), 6 goals
1990: Salvatore SCHILLACI (ITA), 6 goals
1986: Gary LINEKER (ENG), 6 goals

The Most Entertaining Team award presented by Yahoo!:

Most Entertaining Team: PORTUGAL

The FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team is a subjectively awarded prize for the team which has done the most to entertain the public with a positive approach to the game. The award is always organised through public participation in a poll of

2002: Korea Republic
1998: France
1994: Brazil

Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper

Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi BUFFON, ITA #1

The Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper is named in honour of the late Soviet goalkeeper Lev Yashin who starred in the 1958-1966 FIFA World Cups. The FIFA Technical Study Group recognises the top goalkeeper of the tournament based on the player's performance throughout the final competition.

2002: Oliver KAHN (GER)
1998: Fabien BARTHEZ (FRA)
1994: Michel PREUD'HOMME (BEL)

Gillette Best Young Player

Gillette Best Young Player: Lukas PODOLSKI, GER #20

This new award goes to the outstanding young player (born on or after 1 January 1985) at the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™. He is selected by the FIFA Technical Study Group.

FIFA Communications Division
Berlin, 09 July 2006