Football’s world governing body FIFA has appointed Steffi Jones, President of the Organising Committee (OC) for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Germany 2011, as a new member of the Committee for Women's Football and the FIFA Women's World Cup. The 2003 FIFA Women’s World Cup winner will attend her first committee meeting on Wednesday 24 September at the Home of FIFA in Zurich.

The 18-member committee, chaired by Worawi Makudi (Thailand), also includes German FA (DFB) vice-president Hannelore Ratzeburg.

"It is an honour to be asked to contribute to the work of this committee. With an eye on our preparations for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011 in Germany, the depth of expertise regarding international FIFA competitions will be a great help to us," said Jones.