Colombia secure historic qualification
© Getty Images

Colombia have created history by qualifying for their first FIFA Women's World Cup™ and Women's Olympic Football Tournament. A hard-fought 1-0 win over Argentina on Sunday in the qualifying tournament being played in Ecuador ensured Las Cafeteras won through to both Germany 2011 and London 2012.

A lone strike from Ingrid Vidal six minutes after the interval proved the difference, but Colombia were forced to endure a nervy wait pending the outcome of the other match.

Brazil, having already qualified for both competitions, confirmed their status at the summit with a 3-1 triumph over Chile who had needed three points to progress. Goals from Danielle Batista and Marta, ultimately proved too much for the valiant Chileans whose lone reply came from Janet Salgado a minute before the break.

The historic achievement capped a memorable year for Colombian women’s football following a landmark fourth-placed finish at the 2010 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup. Brazil have appeared in all five FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments having been joined by Argentina for the two most recent editions.

Honour Roll
Ecuador 2010 saw Brazil secure their fifth regional title in six attempts. In 2006, Argentina cut the streak of Canarinhas to win the title on home turf.

In the individual honour roll, Marta was named player of the tournament and she was also the tournament's top scorer with nine goals. Chile won the fair play award.

The presentation ceremony was led by FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter who is in Quito for the inauguration of the Ecuador FA's new headquarters.

Results - Day 3
Argentina 0-1 Colombia
Brazil 3-1 Chile

Final Standings
Brazil 9, Colombia 4, Chile 2, Argentina 1