New Zealand seal ninth finals berth
© Getty Images

The New Zealand women’s national team are through to the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011™. The Football Ferns sealed their berth at next summer’s finals by beating Papua New Guinea 11-0 in the Oceania Women’s Championship final on Friday 8 October 2010.

In a personal letter to New Zealand football association president Frank van Hattum, OC President Steffi Jones congratulated the New Zealand footballing family’s on the nation’s third successful qualifying campaign for the FIFA Women’s World Cup finals.

“Ever since I had the privilege of attending the U-17 Women’s World Cup 2008, I’ve been a great fan of football in New Zealand. Alongside rugby, where the All Blacks enjoy global renown, football and especially the women’s game are among the most popular sports in the country. The New Zealand women’s team are passionate and skilled, and will certainly enrich the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011,” commented Jones.

Nine nations are definitely through to the first FIFA Women’s World Cup to be staged in Germany: Australia, England, France, Japan, Korea DPR, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden and hosts Germany.

The remaining seven places at the finals will be allocated as follows:

Africa (CAF):

Two teams

Qualification: African Women’s Championship from 29 October to 14 November 2010 in South Africa.

South America (CONMEBOL):

Two teams

Qualification: South America Women’s Championship from 28 October to 14 November 2010 in Ecuador.

North, Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF):

Two teams

Qualification: CONCACAF qualifying tournament from 28 October to 8 November 2010 in Mexico.

The final place at the FIFA Women’s World Cup will be determined in a play-off between the team finishing third in CONCACAF qualifying, and the team finishing fifth in UEFA qualifying (Italy or Switzerland). The tie will be played on 20 and 27 November 2010.

The Final Draw takes place on 29 November 2010 in Frankfurt.