North American qualifiers set

The USA will open the North American qualifying tournament for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011™ against Haiti on 28 October, organizers of the event announced today.

CONCACAF will stage the event between 28 October and 8 November in Mexico with the two finalists securing berths in next year's 16-team FIFA Women's World Cup at Germany and the third-place club facing Europe's fifth-place team for another berth.

The Americans, winners in the four prior qualifying events they have played, were set in Group B with Haiti, Costa Rica and Guatemala while the hosts were drawn into Group A with Guyana, Canada and Trinidad and Tobago.

Round-robin play will decide the semi-finalists for the 5 November matches in Cancun that will determine the automatic qualifiers for Gemany, with group winners facing the runner-up from the opposite group in the crucial matches.

The final and third-place matches will be played on 8 November, also in Cancun.

28 October: Costa Rica v Guatemala, United States v Haiti

29 October: Trinidad and Tobago v Canada, Mexico vs. Guyana

30 October: Haiti v Costa Rica, United States v Guatemala

31 October: Canada v Guyana, Mexico v Trinidad and Tobago

1 November: Guatemala v Haiti, United States v Costa Rica

2 November: Guyana v Trinidad and Tobago, Mexico v Canada

5 November: Group A winner v Group B runner-up, Group B winner v Group A runner-up

8 November: Third-place match and Final