Play-off line-up finalised

The play-off rounds for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Germany 2011™ were drawn in Nyon today, with some very exciting ties in prospect.

In the hunt for a berth at next summer’s finals in Germany, former world champions Norway will meet Ukraine, while an all-Scandinavian clash pits 2003 FIFA Women’s World Cup runners-up Sweden against Denmark. England, runners-up at the UEFA Women’s EURO in 2009, were drawn to play Switzerland, with France meeting Italy in the fourth tie.

The first leg matches will be played on 11 and 12 September, with the returns on 15 and 16 September. The four winners qualify for the finals in Germany, but the losers are not completely out of the running either.

The four defeated nations meet in another play-off round in October, for which the pairings were also drawn today. The two winners then meet home and away for the right to face the team finishing third in CONCACAF qualifying. The winners of the intercontinental duel claim the final place at the FIFA Women’s World Cup finals. The 16-team tournament runs from 26 June to 17 July 2011.

Play-offs for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011
(11/12 & 15/16 September)

1: France-Italy
2: England-Switzerland
3: Ukraine-Norway
4: Sweden-Denmark

Round 1: 2/3 & 6/7 October

1: Loser of play-off 4 - Loser of play-off 2
2: Loser of play-off 3 - Loser of play-off 1

Round 2: 23/24 & 27/28 October

Winner of Match 1 - Winner of Match 2