European nations with home advantage
© Foto-net

The first leg of the final FIFA Women's World Cup 2011™ play-off between the third-placed CONCACAF nation and the fifth-placed team in UEFA qualifying will take place in Europe on 20 November 2010. The second leg will be played on 27 November 2010 in the CONCACAF Zone. The news was confirmed following Wednesday's draw at FIFA headquarters in Zurich.

The draw was conducted by Worawi Makudi, Chairman of the Committee for Women's Football and the FIFA Women's World Cup. Also present were Michel Platini, UEFA President and Member of the FIFA Executive Committee, CONCACAF representative Jason Blazer and FIFA Director of Competitions Jim Brown

In the North, Central American and Caribbean Zone, the top two nations in each group will qualify directly for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011. In the European Zone, the eight group winners will be paired together in two-legged play-offs to determine the first four qualifiers for the finals. The four runners-up will then meet in a further play-off round to determine the nation that will face the third-placed team from the North, Central American and Caribbean Zone in the final play-off tie.