History points to dramatic finale
© Action Images

There have been golden goal winners, penalty shoot-outs and drama aplenty in the four previous FIFA Women's World Cup finals. FIFA.com looks back at how those final encounters unravelled.

China 1991: USA 2-1 Norway
A three-pronged American strikeforce cut a swathe through the inaugural FIFA Women's World Cup and carried their country to the podium in some style. Michelle Akers, Carin Jennings and April Heinrichs, dubbed 'The Triple-Edged Sword' by the Chinese media, scored 20 of USA's 25 goals in the tournament and it was wholly appropriate that Akers, the Golden Shoe winner, should score both the opening goal in the Guangzhou Final and the winner after Linda Medalen had equalised for Norway. The match had looked destined for extra time until Akers pounced on a loose back pass from Tina Svensson and rounded goalkeeper Reidun Seth before finding the empty net for her tenth, and most important, goal of the two-week event.

Sweden 1995: Norway 2-0 Germany
A victory for Norway at the second edition and revenge along the way as they followed a near-perfect group campaign, scoring 17 goals without reply, with a semi-final victory over a US side who had beaten them to the gold medal four years previously. In the final in Solna, they faced a Germany side who had recovered from a group defeat against Sweden to pose a strong challenge, advancing to the final by beating a China side who had themselves ended the hopes of the host country in the previous round. Goals from Hege Riise and Marianne Pettersen in the space of three minutes just before half-time sealed the trophy for Even Pellerud's team in front of a 17,158 crowd.

USA 1999: USA 0-0 China (aet, USA won 5-4 on penalties)
Another first for the FIFA Women's World Cup as this final went all the way to penalties, mirroring the FIFA World Cup™ final held in the same Rosebowl Stadium, Pasadena five years before. China had proved themselves the most potent attacking force of all 16 teams involved, with 19 goals in their previous five games. However, it wasn't until extra time that they really began to threaten, with Fan Yunjie denied by a goalline clearance by Kristine Lilly, who is of course still starring at the highest level eight years later. In the shoot-out, Briana Scurry's save from Liu Ying, China's third penalty taker, proved decisive and it ultimately fell to Brandi Chastain to slam home the trophy-winning kick to give the US their second crown, and the first for a host nation, in front of a competition-record crowd of 90,185.

USA 2003: Germany 2-1 Sweden (aet)
A wonderful display of attacking football ended with a golden goal winner to confirm Germany as the coming force in world football. They possessed the Golden Ball and Golden Shoe winner in Birgit Prinz as well as Best Goalkeeper award winner Silke Rottenberg, yet for a time it looked as though Sweden would make off with the big prize as they led through Hanna Ljungberg's first-half goal. The Swedes were pegged back at the start of the second half by Maren Meinert's equaliser and were fortunate to survive a number of subsequent raids. For the second successive FIFA Women's World Cup final, extra time was required where substitute Nia Kuenzer won it in dramatic fashion with a header following Renate Lingor's 98th minute free kick. Not only were Germany crowned champions but Tina Theune-Meyer became the first female coach to lead a team to the trophy.