Only wins for starters

The opening fixture at the FIFA Women's World Cup has never produced a draw, nor a goal for the losing side. has rounded up the statistics behind the first round of matches, starting with those fixtures being played on the tournament's first two days.

Group A: Germany v Argentina
If both Germany and Argentina find the net in the Opening Match, it will be a first for the FIFA Women's World Cup. In previous first fixtures the winning team - there has not been a draw - have always kept a clean sheet. Those winners were China (1991), Germany (1995), USA (1999) and Norway (2003).

Germany will be seeking to add to their run of six successive wins (all in 2003) and match their record in 1991 and 2003 of a 100 per cent record in the group stage. A win or draw would give Argentina their first points in the competition. They lost all three games in their only previous appearance (2003), conceding at least three goals each time. Of the 15 goals conceded, six came in the last 15 minutes.

If the title-holders score it will extend their run of consecutive FIFA Women's World Cup matches in which they have scored to 11. The record is held by Norway with 15 between 1991 and 1999.

Japan v England
The other opening Group A fixture features two teams who have never previously met in women's football. Japan have lost all six previous FIFA Women's World Cup matches against European sides without scoring. In fact, of all the ever-presents in China 2007, Japan have scored the lowest number of goals (ten).

Group B: USA v Korea DPR
Korea DPR need to beware: USA have scored three goals in each of their opening FIFA Women's World Cup matches (3-2 v Sweden in 1991; 3-3 v China PR in 1995; 3-0 v Denmark in 1999; 3-1 v Sweden in 2003). In both of the sides' previous two encounters USA won 3-0 and each time an American scored two second-half goals (Tisha Venturini in 1999, Cat Reddick in 2003).

Nigeria v Sweden
Sweden will be trying to pick up their first points in an opening game. They have lost each time - 3-2 to USA in 1991; 1-0 to Brazil in 1995; 2-1 to China in 1999; 3-1 to USA in 2003.

Nigeria are the only African team to have beaten UEFA representatives in a FIFA women's competition but they also hold the record for most defeats in the FIFA Women's World Cup (ten in 13 matches) and the record, with Ghana and Japan, of four consecutive matches in the competition without scoring. With a current run of three competition matches without a goal they could break that record.

Finally, of all the ever-presents at China 2007, Nigeria have the worst defensive record from past tournaments, having conceded 44 goals in 13 matches (an average of 3.38 per game).