Sundhage names USA squad
© Getty Images

USA women's coach Pia Sundhage named an 18-player roster for the Women's Olympic Football Tournament on Sunday, with captain Christie Rampone set for a team record fourth appearance at the games as the Americans try to defend gold.

A total of 11 players return from the US squad that won the Beijing 2008 title. The Americans have won gold at the 1996, 2004 and 2008 Olympics and settled for silver at Sydney 2000.

USA leading scorer Abby Wambach returns to the Olympics after a broken leg kept her from playing at Beijing. Wambach scored the gold-medal winner against Brazil in 2004, and her 134 career goals is second only to Mia Hamm on the all-time US goalscoring list.

Midfielders Shannon Boxx and Heather O'Reilly and defender Heather Mitts were named to their third Olympic rosters, while defender Rampone, the oldest player on the squad at 36, made her fourth.

Forward Sydney Leroux, with seven goals in nine matches for the United States, is the youngest player on the roster at age 22. Leroux, along with Kelley O'Hara, Amy LePeilbet, Becky Sauerbrunn, Megan Rapinoe and Alex Morgan will be making their Olympic debut.

"It was a long, productive and interesting process to cut the pool down to these 18," Sundhage said. "The team is a mix of very experienced players and several new fresh faces. All the players are versatile, which is extremely important."

The Americans open the group stage against France on 25 July and face Colombia on 28 July in Glasgow, while they will travel to Old Trafford in Manchester to play Korea DPR on 31.

USA squad
Goalkeepers: Nicole Barnhart, Hope Solo
Rachel Buehler, Amy LePeilbet, Heather Mitts, Kelley O'Hara, Christie Rampone, Becky Sauerbrunn
Shannon Boxx, Lauren Cheney, Tobin Heath, Carli Lloyd, Heather O'Reilly, Megan Rapinoe
Sydney Leroux, Alex Morgan, Amy Rodriguez, Abby Wambach