Unusually in football, South America is last. Conmebol will complete its qualification round on Sunday for the FIFA World Youth Championship Netherlands 2005. The second phase has already provided us with three qualifiers - Colombia, Brazil and Argentina - who are sure of three of the top four slots. Chile or Uruguay will claim the last spot on Saturday.

Click here for the qualifiers for FIFA World Youth Championship Netherlands 2005

Colombia, Brazil and Argentina, semi-finalists in FIFA U17 World Championship Finland 2003 and the World Youth Championship UAE 2004, will again qualify for the final stages in the Netherlands in summer. The Colombians, at home, have been particularly impressive with three wins and a draw in their four games so far. The Cafeteros beat Brazil 1-0 thanks to a goal from Hugo Rodallega, the revelation of his team.

Brazil also have booked their qualification place early, thanks to solid victories against Uruguay (4-2), Venezuela (1-0) and Chile (2-1). It was a tough passage, especially against Chile, where the victory was only secured in the last few minutes direct from a free-kick. Argentina also had a difficult path - qualifying without ever hitting top form. One very tight victory against Venezuela (1-0) and three draws against Chile, Uruguay and Colombia proved sufficient to see the Albicelestes through to the Netherlands. But Hugo Tocalli's youngsters will have to improve if they are to repeat their semi-final showing in Finland 2003.

There is still drama to come. Uruguay and Chile are fighting over the last qualification spot and they face each other in a dramatic dénouement in Armenia on Saturday. Sunday's fixtures - Brazil v Argentina and Colombia v Venezuela - will decide who wins the South American qualifying competition. Netherlands awaits.

Venezuela - Argentina 0:1
Chile - Colombia 3:4
Uruguay - Brazil 2:4
Chile - Argentina 1:1
Uruguay - Colombia 1:3
Brazil - Venezuela 1:0
Venezuela - Chile 2:3
Argentina - Uruguay 0:0
Colombia - Brazil 1:0
Argentina - Colombia 1:1
Venezuela - Uruguay 1:2
Brazil - Chile 2:1

05.02.05 : Chile - Uruguay  
06.02.05 : Argentina - Brazil
06.02.05 : Colombia - Venezuela