Young Roos squad announced
© Getty Images

Australia have announced their 21-man squad for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009.

Young Socceroos coach Jan Versleijen has included three players with senior national team experience in Adelaide United defender Daniel Mullen, AZ Alkmaar midfielder James Holland and Brisbane Roar forward Mitch Nichols. The squad features 15 domestic-based players and six from overseas clubs, including Liverpool reserve team goalkeeper Dean Bouzanis.

"We have experienced a variety of opposition in different conditions and locations which has helped in the development of the players," said Versleijen. "Our recent tours to Europe and South America have also given us valuable experience against the similar type of opposition that we will face at the World Cup."

Australia will play their matches in Port Said having been drawn into Group E alongside 2007 runners-up Czech Republic, Costa Rica and four-time winners Brazil. The Young Socceroos qualified for the tournament, having made the semi-finals of the AFC U-19 Youth Championships in Saudi Arabia last year.

Andrew Redmayne (Central Coast Mariners), Dean Bouzanis (Liverpool/England), Alex Cisak (Leicester City/England)

Defenders: Daniel Mullen (Adelaide United), Luke DeVere (Brisbane Roar), Ryan McGowan (Hearts/Scotland), Matthew Jurman (Sydney FC), Sam Munro (Sydney FC), Ben Kantarovski (Newcastle Jets), Sam Gallagher (Manly United)

Midfielders: James Holland (AZ Alkmaar/ Netherlands), Tahj Minniecon (Gold Coast United), Chris Herd (Aston Villa/England), Thomas Oar (Brisbane Roar), Kofi Danning (Sydney FC), Rhyan Grant (Sydney FC)

Forwards: Aaron Mooy (Bolton Wanderers/England), Jason Hoffman (Newcastle Jets), Mitch Nichols (Brisbane Roar), Nathan Elasi (Melbourne Victory), Sean Rooney (Newcastle Jets)