Thursday 8th February saw the start of the first group of qualifying tournaments in Noumea, New Caledonia. Twelve of the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) members are drawn into two groups with the winner of each group playing home and away for the one place OFC has at the 2001 FIFA World Youth Championship to be held in Argentina beginning in June.

Group 1:
American Samoa, Fiji, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Tahiti

Group 2:

Australia, Cook Islands, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Vanuatu

The Group 1 tournament is heing held in Noumea from 8-16 February 2001. The Group 2 tournament will be held in Rarotonga, Cook Islands from 15-23 February 2001.