طوكيو 1964

تغير نظام مسابقة كرة القدم حيث تقرر تأهل صاحب المركز الثاني أيضاً في كل مجموعة إلى ربع النهائي. ولكن قبل انطلاق المباريات، تأثرت طوكيو 1964 بأحداث الشغب التي رافقت مباراة بيرو والأرجنتين في التصفيات والتي ذهب ضحيتها 328 شخصاً في ليما. وبدا أن أحداث الشغب هي أولى المشاكل حيث انسحبت كوريا الشمالية بعدما استبعد عدد من عدائيها لمشاركتهم في مسابقة غير معترف بها.

ولم تشارك إيطاليا أيضا بعد اتهامها بإشراك عدد من اللاعبين المحترفين في صفوفها حيث كان هناك عدد من لاعبي فريق إنتر ميلان الذي فاز على ريال مدريد في نهائي كأس أبطال الأندية الأوروبية.

وشهدت مسابقة كرة القدم أحداثاً تاريخية حيث وصل منتخبان أفريقيان إلى ربع النهائي للمرة الأولى في تاريخ المسابقة وهما غانا ومصر التي تفوقت على غانا بنتيجة 5-1 ولكن المنتخب المصري سقط في نصف النهائي أمام المجر بنتيجة 6-0 بفضل رباعية من "فيرينك بيني".

ولكن رباعية "بيني" لم تكن الأبرز حيث أنهى المسابقة في صدارة ترتيب الهدافين بإثني عشر هدفاً سجل منها ست أهداف في المباراة التي فاز فيها منتخب بلاده على المغرب في الدور الأول بنتيجة 6-0. وسجل المنتخب المجري ست أهداف أخرى في الفوز المثير بنتيجة 6-5 على يوغوسلافيا بعد أربعة أيام في المباراة التي شهدت تسجيل "تيبور تشيرناي" أربعة أهداف وبيني هدف. أما المباراة النهائية فلم تكن مثيرة على الإطلاق حيث فاز منتخب المجر بالميدالية الذهبية للمرة الثانية في تاريخه بفوزه على تشيكوسلوفاكيا بنتيجة 2-1 بفضل هدف بالخطأ من مدافع تشيكوسلوفاكيا "فلاديمير فايس" وهدف من "بيني" أمام 65610 متفرج على الملعب الوطني.

وفي مباراة تحديد الفائز بالميدالية البرونزية، تغلب منتخب ألمانيا الشرقية على مصر بنتيجة 3-1 ليحرز أول ميدالية له في كرة القدم.

Tokyo, 1964

The football tournament added another tier as the second-place team in each of the four groups also qualified for the quarter-finals.

Even before the opening kick-off, the 1964 event was marred because 328 people were killed during rioting at a qualifying match between Peru and Argentina in Lima. The riot turned out to be the start of one problem after another as Korea DPR dropped out after some of their track and swimming athletes were suspended for competing in some unsanctioned games.

Italy also decided not to participate after they were accused of housing several professional football players. There were members of the Italian Olympic team who also played for Inter, who defeated Real Madrid in the European Cup final.

The football competition definitely had its moments. For the first time in Olympic history, two African teams -- Ghana and Egypt -- reached the quarter-finals. The Egyptians prevailed over Ghana, 5-1. Egypt were eliminated in the semi-finals, losing to Hungary in the wake of Ferenc Bene's four-goal effort in a 6-0 result.

But that was not Bene's most impressive performance as he finished with a tournament-high 12 goals, collecting a remarkable six goals in a 6-0 first-round triumph over Morocco. Hungary struck for another six goals in a wild, 6-5 win over a strong Yugoslav side four days later as Tibor Csernai had four goals and Bene one. In a rather undistinguished Olympic final, Hungary won its second gold medal, edging Czechoslovakia, 2-1, on defender Vladimir Weiss's own goal and Bene's score in front of 65,610 in the National Stadium.

In the bronze-medal match, East German captured their first football medal, defeating Egypt, 3-1.