باريس 1924

أصبحت مسابقة كرة القدم في الألعاب الأولمبية أكثر من مسابقة بين دول النصف الشرقي للكرة الأرضية بعدما شهدت مشاركة أحد منتخبات أمريكا الجنوبية منتخب أوروجواي الذي تميز بمهارة وموهبة كبيرتين.

تغيرت خريطة كرة القدم العالمية تماماً لسبب جيد بعدما ضرب منتخب أوروجواي الذي كان يعتبر مغموراً على الصعيد الدولي بقوة في مشاركته الأولى في الألعاب الأولمبية حيث سحق منتخب يوغوسلافيا بنتيجة 7-0 بفضل هدفين من نجميه "بيدرو سيا" و"بيدرو بتروني".

وكان لاعب الوسط الأسطوري "خوسيه لياندرو أندرادي"، الذي كان أول لاعب يلقب بالجوهرة السوداء (كان "بيليه" ثاني لاعب يطلق عليه هذا اللقب)، مهندس الهجوم لمنتخب أوروجواي حيث قاد بمهارته المميزة في صناعة الألعاب منتخب بلاده إلى المباراة النهائية لمواجهة سويسرا بعد انتصارات متتالية على الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بنتيجة 3-0 بفضل هدفين من "بتروني" وهدف من "سكاروني" وعلى فرنسا 5-1 وعلى هولندا 2-1 في نصف النهائي.

وبعد الخسارة في نصف النهائي، احتج منتخب هولندا على ركلة الجزاء التي منحت أوروجواي هدف الفوز. ولم يقبل الإحتجاج الهولندي ولكن منتخب أوروجواي احتج بعد ذلك لاختيار حكم هولندي لقيادة المباراة النهائية من قبل اللجنة الأولمبية التي قامت بإرضاء منتخب أوروجواي بسحب قرعة لتحديد هوية حكم النهائي الذي كان الفرنسي "مارسيل سلاويك".

وفي المباراة الثانية في نصف النهائي، فاز منتخب سويسرا على السويد بنتيجة 2-1 بفضل هدفين من "ماكس أبيلجين" ولكنه كاد أن يخرج من المنافسة بسبب نقص في التمويل حيث كانت بطاقة القطار في سويسرا صالحة لعشرة أيام فقط وكانت الأموال قد نفذت ولكن الحملة التي أطلقتها صحيفة "سبورت" نجحت في جلب الأموال اللازمة. إلا أن المال وحده ليس كافياً للحصول على السعادة أو اللقب لأن منتخب أوروجواي تقدم بنتيجة 1-0 مع نهاية الشوط الأول قبل أن يخرج فائزاً بثلاثية نظيفة في المباراة التي أقيمت على استاد كولومب أمام 40522 متفرج في حين لم يسمح لعشرة آلاف آخرين في دخول الملعب. وسجل "بتروني" الهدف الأول و"سيا" الهدف الثاني قبل أن يحسم "أنخل رومانو" الفوز. في المقابل، احتاج منتخب السويد إلى مباراة معادة ليفوز بالميدالية البرونزية حيث نجح في الفوز على هولندا في المباراة المعادة 3-1 بعدما انتهت المباراة الأولى بالتعادل الإيجابي بنتيجة 1-1.

Paris, 1924

The Olympic Football Tournament became more than just an eastern hemisphere competition when a South American side made a memorable debut - the marvellously talented and skilful Uruguay.

International football would never be the same, for the very best of reasons. Uruguay, an unknown quantity internationally, quickly turned into the sensation of the tournament, rolling over Yugoslavia in their first game, 7-0, as the always dangerous Pedro Cea and Pedro Petrone connected for two goals apiece.

Legendary midfielder Jose Leandro Andrade, the first player nicknamed the Black Pearl (the incomparable Pele was the second), masterminded the attack. He used his superior playmaking skills to propel the Uruguayans into the final against Switzerland with victories over the United States, 3-0 (behind two goals from Petrone and one from Scarone), France, 5-1, and the Netherlands in the semi-finals, 2-1. Getting there was half the fun.

After losing in the semi-finals, the Netherlands protested the ruling of a penalty kick that turned out to be the winning goal. The Dutch lost that round, but then Uruguay protested against the Olympic Committee's selection of a Dutch referee for the final. To appease the South Americans, the committee pulled the name of a final referee out of a hat and picked out a Frenchman, Marcel Slawick.

In the other semi-final, Switzerland turned back Sweden, 2-1, with two goals by Max Abegglen, but was almost knocked out of the competition over a lack of finances. The Swiss train ticket was valid only ten days and their money had run out. An appeal by a newspaper, 'Sport', brought in the needed funds. But the money could not buy happiness or a title, as the fabulous Uruguayans took a 1-0 half-time lead and rolled to a 3-0 triumph and the gold medal in front of 40,522 fans in the Colombes Stadium, while another 10,000 were turned away. Petrone scored in the first half and Cea and Angel Romano in the final 45 minutes. Sweden needed a replay of their third-place match to earn the bronze medal. After playing to a 1-1 draw with the Dutch, the Swedes recorded a 3-1 triumph, built on Sven Rydell's two goals.