قد تكون دورة الألعاب الأولمبية عام 1968 الأكثر اضطراباً بين كل الدورات الأولمبية ولم يكن غريبا أن تطال هذه الإضطرابات والمشاكل مسابقة كرة القدم. وفي النهاية نجح منتخب المجر الذي حقق ذهبيته الثالثة في تاريخ الألعاب في الفوز باللقب مرتين متتاليتين ليعادل إنجاز بريطانيا العظمى (1908 و1912) وأوروجواي (1920 و1924).

لم تكن الطريق المؤدية إلى المباراة النهائية مفروشة بالورود حيث رفض منتخب المغرب الذي تأهل للمشاركة في الدورة مواجهة إسرائيل ليحل مكانه منتخب غانا الذي خسر بنتيجة 5-3 في مباراة شهدت معارك استمرت حتى في القرية الأولمبية كما ذكرت بعض التقارير. وحصل عراك  آخر في مباراة تشيكوسلوفاكيا وجواتيمالا ليفتح المجال أمام مزيد من المشاكل في مباراتي تحديد الفائزين بالميداليات.

ففي مباراة تحديد الفائز بالميدالية البرونزية والتي خسرها منتخب المكسيك أمام اليابان بنتيجة 2-0 رمى الجمهور المحلي أرض الملعب بالوسادات احتجاجاً على قرارات الحكم.

وكان المنتخب الياباني مفاجأة الدورة بدون شك بعد تغلبه على فرنسا 3-1 في ربع النهائي فيما توج "كونيشيجي كاماموتو" هدافاً للدورة بعدما سجل سبعة من أصل تسعة أهداف لمنتخب بلاده. وجمعت المباراة النهائية منتخب المجر مع منتخب بلغاريا الذي تأهل إلى هذا الدور بالقرعة وعلى الرغم من تقدم المنتخب البلغاري إلا أن المنتخب المجري رد بهدفين بواسطة "إيفان مانسل" و"أنتال دوناي" أواخر الشوط الأول.

وسرعان ما تدهورت الأمور في المباراة حيث رفع الحكم "دييجو ديليو" البطاقة الحمراء في وجه المهاجم البلغاري "تزيفان ديميتروف" لخشونته فما كان من زميله "أتاناس خريستون" إلا أن رمى الكرة باتجاه الحكم الذي طرده أيضاً. ولحق بهما أيضاً "كيريل إيفكوف" ليكمل المنتخب البلغاري المباراة بثمانية لاعبين وليرمي الجمهور الوسادات مجدداً على أرض الملعب قبل أن يحسم المنتخب المجري النتيجة لمصلحته 4-1. وسجل "جوشاف" و"دوناي" هدفين في الشوط الثاني أمام 75 ألف متفرج على استاد أزتيكا.

يذكر أن المدافع المجري "ديسزو نوفاك" نال شرفاً نادراً بكونه اللاعب الوحيد الذي أحرز ثلاث ميداليات أولمبية بعدما فاز بميدالية برونزية في 1960 وميداليتين ذهبيتين في 1964 و1968.

Mexico City, 1968
© Getty Images

The 1968 Summer Games might have been the most tumultuous of all Olympics, and that confusion and problems touched the football tournament as well. In the end, Hungary, who captured their third gold medal, joined Great Britain (1908 and 1912) and Uruguay (1924 and 1928) as the only back-to-back Olympic champions.

It was not always a smooth ride to the gold-medal match. Morocco, who had qualified for the tournament, refused to play Israel. Morocco's replacement, Ghana, lost to Israel, 5-3, in a fight-filled match that reportedly continued at the Olympic Village. Czechoslovakia and Guatemala also fought, setting the stage for two controversy-filled medal games.

During Mexico's 2-0 loss to Japan in the bronze-medal game, irate fans in the Azteca Stadium threw cushions onto the field to protest a call, and did the same again during the final.

The Japanese undoubtedly were the surprise side of the tournament, defeating France, 3-1, in the quarter-finals. Kunishige Kamamoto, who scored seven of his country's nine goals, was the competition's top scorer. Bulgaria, who gained the semi-finals only after a coin toss, scored first, but the Hungarians took control with two goals by Ivan Menczel and Antal Dunai within a minute late in the first half.

The game quickly deteriorated as referee Diego DeLeo red-carded Bulgarian forward Tzevan Dimitrov for rough play. Atanas Christov kicked the ball at DeLeo and was also ejected. Kiril Ivkov was thrown out and Bulgaria were forced to play with eight players as fans again threw cushions onto the field in what turned into a 4-1 Hungarian triumph. Juhasv and Dunai added second-half scores before 75,000 in the Azteca.

One interesting note: Hungarian defender Deszo Novak gained a rare and unique distinction by becoming the only football player to win three Olympic medals a bronze in 1960 and golds in 1964 and 1968.