برلين 1936

بسبب تأثير نمو الإحتراف في عالم كرة القدم ووجود بطولة كأس العالم، كان من الصعب تحديد مصطلح للهواة. ومع عدم وجود أي حل في ذلك الوقت، قررت اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية عدم اعتماد مسابقة كرة القدم في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية الصيفية في 1932 في لوس أنجلوس. ولكن اللعبة الأكثر شعبية في العالم عادت بقوة في دورة برلين 1936 لأن منظمي الألعاب الأولمبية كانوا بحاجة إلى الأموال التي كانت تدرها كرة القدم.

وربما كان هناك بعض الندم لدى المنظمين بسبب بعض الأحداث المؤسفة ففي المباراة التي انتهت بفوز إيطاليا على الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بنتيجة 1-0 أصيب لاعبان أمريكيان عندما قام الحكم بطرد لاعب إيطاليا "أكيلي بيتشيني" الذي رفض القرار وقام عدد من زملائه بمهاجمة الحكم وغطوا فمه بأيديهم ليبقى "بيتشيني" في المباراة لسبب ما.

وكانت هذه المباراة مقدمة لما ستشهده مباراة بيرو والنمسا في ربع النهائي حيث نجح منتخب بيرو في قلب تخلفه من هدفين دون مقابل إلى تعادل بنتيجة 2-2 في آخر ربع ساعة من المباراة. وفي الوقت الإضافي نزل جمهور منتخب بيرو إلى أرض الملعب وهاجموا لاعبي المنتخب النمسوي وأثناء هذه الفوضى نجح منتخب بيرو في تسجيل هدفين آخرين ليخرج فائزاً بنتيجة 4-2.

وظن منتخب بيرو بأنه فاز بالمباراة إلا أن المنتخب النمساوي احتج لدى اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية التي أمرت بإعادة المباراة بدون جمهور ولكن منتخب بيرو رفض القرار لتغادر بعثة المنتخب بالكامل اعتراضاً على القرار مثلما فعل منتخب كولومبيا.

وتأهل منتخب النمسا بالتالي إلى المباراة النهائية لمواجهة منتخب إيطاليا بقيادة مدربه العبقري "فيتوريو بوتزو" الذي كان يعيش أفضل حقبة له بعد فوزه بكأس العالم في 1934 (وفاز باللقب أيضاً في 1938). وبعد أن تخطى المنتخب الأمريكي، اكتسح منتخب إيطاليا نظيره الياباني بنتيجة 8-0 في ربع النهائي سجل منها "أنيبالي فروسي" ثلاث أهداف و"كارلو بياجي" أربعة أهداف قبل أن يتخطى نظيره النرويجي في نصف النهائي حيث سجل "فروسي" هدفاً آخر أيضاً.

وانهى "فروسي" الدورة في صدارة ترتيب الهدافين برصيد 7 أهداف بما فيها هدفي منتخب بلاده في الوقت الإضافي في المباراة النهائية أمام النمسا والتي انتهت بفوز إيطاليا بنتيجة 2-1 أمام 85 ألف متفرج على الملعب الأولمبي.

وفاز منتخب النرويج بالميدالية البرونزية بفوزه على بولندا بنتيجة 3-2 بفضل ثلاثية للاعبه "آرني بروشتاد".

Berlin, 1936

Because of the growing professional influence and of the presence of a World Cup, there were difficulties defining what an amateur was. With no solution at the time, the International Olympic Committee decided not to include football at the 1932 Summer Games in Los Angeles. But the sport returned as strong as ever in Germany in 1936 because organizers needed the money generated by football.

There might have been times, however, when the organizers might have had second thoughts because of several unruly incidents. In Italy's 1-0 victory over the United States, for instance, two American players were injured when the referee ordered Achille Piccini of Italy off the field. The player refused. Several teammates surrounded the official and covered his mouth with their hands. Piccini, for some reason, remained in the game.

That turned out to be the warm-up for the quarter-final confrontation between Peru and Austria. Peru rallied from a two-goal deficit in the final 15 minutes of normal time. During extra-time, Peruvian fans ran onto the field and attacked an Austrian player. In the chaos, Peru scored twice and won, 4-2.

Or so the South Americans thought. Austria protested and the International Olympic Committee ordered a replay without any spectators. Peru refused and their entire Olympic squad left in protest as did Colombia.

Austria eventually earned the right to face Italy in the final. The Italians, coached by Vittorio Pozzo, were in the middle of one of the greatest runs in international football history, having won the World Cup in 1934(and were to do so again in 1938). After dispatching the U.S., Italy romped past Japan, 8-0, in the quarter-finals as Annibale Frossi, who wore a headband and glasses, scored three goals and Carlo Biagi four, and edged Norway in the semi-finals, as Frossi had another.

Frossi finished with a tournament-best seven goals, including two in a 2-1 Italian extra-time win for the gold in front of 85,000 spectators at Olympic Stadium.

Norway captured the bronze medal, edging Poland, 3-2, as Arne Brustad found the back of the net three times.