Guereirro makes Poland's EURO squad

Poland coach Leo Beenhakker on Wednesday released his final 23-player squad for UEFA EURO 2008, in what will be the country's debut at the UEFA European Championship.

Beenhakker cut forward Radoslaw Matusiak (Wisla Krakow), defender Grzegorz Bronowicki, (Red Star Belgrade/SRB), midfielder Radoslaw Majewski (Groclin Grodzisk) from a 26-man list he issued on 9 May. The Dutchman annouced the cut from Poland's training camp in Donaueschingen, Germany, at a press conference broadcast live on Poland's TVP public broadcaster.

Star striker, Brazilian-born Roger Guereirro, who plays for Legia Warsaw and received Polish citizenship on 17 April made the final cut after receiving the green light from world football's governing body FIFA to play for Poland.

Beenhakker originally tapped a pool of 31 players on 16 April, then narrowing it down to 26 on 9 May. Poland came through a EURO warm-up against Albania on Tuesday as 1-0 winners having tied 1-1 with Macedonia 24 hours earlier.

The squad are due back in Poland from their training camp for a 1 June friendly against Denmark, and are then set to fly on 2 June to Austria, where they will be based in Bad Waltersdorf, a resort in eastern Austria. Poland have been drawn in Group B of the 16-nation tournament, and kick-off with a baptism of fire against Germany in their opening game 8 June in Klagenfurt, southern Austria.

They take on Austria in the capital Vienna on 12 June and return to Klagenfurt to face Croatia on 16 June.


Goalkeepers: Artur Boruc (Celtic/SCO), Lukasz Fabianski (Arsenal/ENG), Tomasz Kuszczak (Manchester United/ENG)

Defenders: Jacek Bak (Austria Vienna/AUT), Pawel Golanski (Steaua Bucharest/ROM), Mariusz Jop (FK Moscow/RUS), Adam Kokoszka (Wisla Krakow), Marcin Wasilewski (Anderlecht/BEL), Jakub Wawrzyniak (Legia Warsaw), Michal Zewlakow (Olympiakos/GRE)

Midfielders: Jakub Blaszczykowski (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Dariusz Dudka (Wisla Krakow), Lukasz Gargula (GKS Belchatow), Roger Guereirro (Legia Warsaw), Jacek Krzynowek (VfL Wolfsburg/GER), Mariusz Lewandowski (Shakhtar Donetsk/UKR), Rafal Murawski (Lech Poznan), Michal Pazdan (Gornik Zabrze).

Forwards: Wojciech Lobodzinski (Wisla Krakow), Marek Saganowski (Southampton/ENG), Euzebiusz Smolarek (Racing Santander/ESP), Tomasz Zahorski (Gornik Zabrze), Maciej Zurawski (AE Larissa/GRE)