Title-holders Egypt named a 23-man squad Friday for the CAF Africa Cup of Nations in Ghana from 20 January to 10 February.

Missing from the list was Mido, the injured Middlesbrough attacker who was banned for six months after falling out with his coach in the last edition.


Goalkeepers: Essam al-Hadary (Al-Ahly), Mohamed Moncef (Zamalek), Mohamed Sobhi (Ismailia)

Defenders: Mahmoud Fathallah and Tarek al-Sayed (Zamalek), Sayed Moawad and Hani Saied (Ismailia), Shady Mohamed and Ahmed Fathi (Ahly), Wael Gomaa (Al-Siliya/QAT), Ibrahim Saied (Ankaragucu/TUR), Ahmed al-Muhammadi (ENPPI)

Midfielders: Omar Gamal and Hosni Abd Rabou (Ismailia), Mohamed Aboutraika (Ahly), Ahmed Hassan (Anderlecht/BEL), Hassan Mostafa (Al-Wehda/KSA), Mohamed Shawky (Middlesbrough/ENG), Ahmed Shaaban (Petrojet)

Strikers: Mohamed Fadl (Ismailia), Emad Moteab (Ahly), Amr Zaki (Zamalek), Mohamed Zidan (Hamburg/GER)