It is one of the most difficult decisions made during the 90 minutes of a football match. It is a decision, which some in the stadium may not necessarily agree with, but respect. And it's not made by the referee, either of his assistants or the fourth official.  So what is it?

It is the player who will be named as the Budweiser Man of the Match.

Especially when it surrounds the beautiful game, everyone has their opinion, but at the end of the day someone has to make a decision. And who better to make it than a footballing expert from FIFA's Technical Study Group?

For all 16 games of the FIFA Confederations Cup South Africa 2009, two of the following six internationally-renowned tacticians will be charged with the responsibility: Abedi Pele (Ghana), Gerard Houllier (France), Abdel Moneim Hussein (Sudan), Rodrigo Kenton (Costa Rica), Kwok Ka-Ming (Hong Kong) and Holger Osieck (Germany).

The result of the Budweiser Man of the Match Award will be announced on's MatchCast as soon as the decision is made. Following the game, one of the FIFA TSG members who had a hand in bestowing the honour will tell why that particular player stood out.

On top of these duties, the TSG will also be responsible for nominating the winners of the various awards, including the adidas Golden Glove for the best goalkeeper, as well as for compiling the list of outstanding players from which journalists will ultimately choose the adidas Golden Ball winner.

In addition, the TSG will award fair play points to the teams based on their behaviour on the pitch. Both these points and the number of yellow and red cards received by each team will go towards determining the winner of the FIFA Fair Play Award.

Have Your Say
Which players do you think will be named as the Budweiser Man of the Match for Sunday's opening games: South Africa-Iraq and New Zealand-Spain?