FIFA Club World Cup in numbers
© Getty Images

The seventh edition of the FIFA Club World Cup begins in Abu Dhabi this evening, commencing a new chapter in this global competition’s colourful history. Ahead of the big kick-off, takes a look over some of this tournament’s most eye-catching statistics.


thousand spectators – an all-time record – turned out in Brazil over the eight matches of the inaugural FIFA Club World Cup in 2000. Japan boast the tournament’s highest average attendance, however, having established an impressive mean of 45,553 during the 2007 edition.


goals have been scored over the tournament’s six editions. Will this evening’s opening match between Al-Wahda Sports Club and Hekari United serve up its 150th?


clubs have participated in the FIFA Club World Cup, with Al Ahly and Pachuca - veterans of three separate editions – the most experienced of them all.


years have passed since Roberto Abbondanzieri and Miguel Calero, the Internacional and Pachuca goalkeepers, appeared in their first FIFA competition. Both turned out in 1989 for their respective countries, Argentina and Colombia, with Abbondanzieri appearing in the FIFA U-16 World Youth Championship in Scotland and Calero turning out for Los Cafateros at the FIFA World Youth Championship in Saudi Arabia.


matches, 0 defeats. That is the enviable record of Brazilian clubs at the FIFA Club World Cup, with penalties needed to secure the title for Corinthians against Vasco da Gama in 2000 after a goalless final.


goals at UAE 2009 established Denilson of Korea Republic’s Pohang Steelers as the FIFA Club World Cup’s all-time leading marksman. The Brazilian’s haul edged him ahead of Romario, Nicolas Anelka, Wayne Rooney, Flavio, Washington and Mohamed Aboutrika, all of whom had struck three times in previous editions.


unanswered goals against Club America in the 2006 semi-final gave Barcelona the biggest win in the tournament’s history. The highest-scoring encounter, meanwhile, was served up by Manchester United and Gamba Osaka in 2008, with the English giants triumphing 5-3 over their Japanese hosts.


different countries have hosted the FIFA Club World Cup: Brazil in 2000, Japan from 2005 until 2008, and the United Arab Emirates for the past two years. The competition will return to Tokyo for the 2011 edition.


Brazilian clubs – Corinthians, Sao Paulo and Internacional – have won the FIFA Club World Cup, making Brazil the tournament's most successful nation. That will remain the case regardless of the outcome of this year’s edition, with Europe’s three successes divided evenly between Italy (AC Milan, 2007), England (Manchester United, 2008) and Spain (Barcelona, 2009).


FIFA Club World Cup winner’s medals is an achievement unique to Dida, who won the tournament with Corinthians in 2000 before lifting the trophy again with AC Milan seven years later


Hekari United players arrive at UAE 2010 having already turned out in a very different FIFA event. Gideon Omokirio and Benjamin Mela have both represented Solomon Islands at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, with the former appearing in four separate editions, amassing 11 appearances and five goals.


goals in a FIFA Club World Cup final is a feat that only one player has managed: Filippo Inzaghi, who struck twice for AC Milan against Boca Juniors in 2007. The same year, Sepahan’s Hadi Aghily claimed a very different record by becoming the first and, to date, only player two score two own goals in a single edition.


player, Dwight Yorke, has the distinction of scoring in two separate FIFA Club World Cups. The Trinidad and Tobago legend even managed this feat for different clubs: Manchester United in 2000 and Sydney FC in 2005