More than a dozen national associations have declared their interest in hosting either the 2003 or 2005 edition of the FIFA Club World Championship. Several associations did so for both events in case they were not retained for the 2003 edition.

By the end of April, declarations had been received by FIFA as follows:

For 2003: Australia, Egypt, England, Iran, Japan, Mexico, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Tunisia, Uruguay and USA.

For 2005: Australia, Croatia, Egypt, England, Guatemala, Japan, Korea Republic, Kuwait, Morocco, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Uruguay and USA.

Each national association will now have until 31 May 2001 either to confirm or withdraw its candidature and to submit its bid documentation, which should contain information on the following aspects:

  • Cities foreseen as the FIFA Headquarters and venues
  • Stadia
  • Training grounds
  • Hotels (teams, media, etc.)
  • Tentative organisation of the Local Organising Committee
  • Transport and communication systems
  • General information on the country (distances, climate, population, etc.)
  • Any other relevant information

The FIFA Executive Committee is to decide on the host countries at its meeting in Buenos Aires on 5 July 2001.

The 2001 FIFA Club World Championship will be held in Spain from 28 July to 12 August. The inaugural FIFA Club World Championship took place in January 2000 in Brazil.