Amarelle and Madjer strike gold
© Foto-net

Brazil will return home with the biggest prize in the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, but their players did not seize the top individual honours, which were instead monopolised by the Iberians. brings you up to date.

adidas Golden, Silver and Bronze Balls
adidas Golden Ball : Amarelle (ESP)
adidas Silver Ball : Benjamin (BRA)
adidas Bronze Ball : Belchior (POR)

His team may have missed out on a place on the end-of-tournament podium, but the form of Spain's Amarelle was exceptional throughout. This form, it transpired, proved enough for him to claim the most-coveted individual prize at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup: the adidas Golden Ball, awarded to the competition's best player as voted for by the media.

Unimaginably spectacular and consistently productive, Amarelle succeeds Brazil's Buru, whose team-mate Benjamin came second in the running. "I've been really pleased to receive this Silver Ball," said the Seleção No10. "But believe me, the team's victory is way much more important than my personal trophy."

adidas Golden, Silver and Bronze Shoes
adidas Golden Shoe: Madjer (POR)
adidas Silver Shoe: Amarelle (ESP)
adidas Bronze Shoe: Belchior (POR)

Madjer did not take kindly to missing out heading the goal chart at Rio de Janeiro 2007. Thirteen goals, including at least one in every game, made sure the adidas Golden Shoe returned to its 2005 and 2006 recipient in Marseille.

Amarelle finished as runner-up, and among his 11 strikes were some mouth-watering overhead-kicks. Belchior, who came of age on Prado beach, made it a bronze double courtesy of ten goals.

adidas Golden Glove
A plethora of goalkeepers shone during Marseille 2008. None more so, according to members of the media, than Spain's Roberto Valeiro, who pocketed the maiden adidas Golden Glove.

FIFA Fair Play award
Russia played hard but they played fair during their campaign, which was ended by Brazil in the quarter-finals after a tense encounter. Nikolai Pisarev's side emulate Japan, France and Brazil as the winners of this distinction.