The Past
After losing the final of the inaugural FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup on home soil back in 2005, the leading proponents of this footballing discipline vowed to never let it happen again. And they have proved as good as their word, with Alexandre Soares' Seleção stylishly winning the next three editions, in Rio de Janeiro (2006 and 2007) and most recently in Marseille (2008).

The Preset
Not even the retirement of the incomparable Junior Negao seems to have affected the solidity of the world champions, who continue to seamlessly renew their ranks without affecting results. Their towering performances at the South American Qualifying Tournament in Uruguay provided more evidence of this, with Brazil winning with relative ease in every match except their semi-final with Argentina. It is this insatiable desire to keep racking up titles that remains the key to success for Soares' men.

The Future
"I'm delighted to have won the Sudamericano and to have finished as top-scorer, but this has been an achievement for the entire group. Now, we hope we can become world champions again in November - that's our dream," said Andre after winning the regional title.

Facts and figures

Former stars
Jorginho (2005), Nenem (2005), Robertinho (2005), Juninho (2005), Romario (2005), Junior Negao (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008).

Key players
Benjamin (pivot), Buru (pivot), Bruno (pivot), Sidney (wide player) and Andre (pivot).

Qualifying statistics
Brazil won all five of their games, scoring 39 goals and conceding just six. Andre finished as tournament top-scorer (13 strikes), while Mao had the best defensive record of any keeper.

The numbers game
23 - The number of games Brazil have played at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup - the highest of any side in the competition's history. Equally impressive has been their record during that sequence, with the Seleção having won 22 and lost just one of those matches.