Created in 2009 in honour of the late Ferenc Puskás, captain and star of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s, the FIFA Puskás Award is bestowed upon the player adjudged to have scored the best goal of the year.

Malaysian Mohd Faiz Subri won the 2016 award with an incredible free kick scored in the Malaysian Super League. The criteria are fairly simple: an aesthetically beautiful goal, awarded without distinction of championship, gender or nationality, scored without the result of luck or a mistake and in support of Fair Play. 

A shortlist of ten nominees will be announced in September, with the following panel of goalscoring experts choosing the efforts that will make up the list:

The 2017 winner will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in London on 23 October. Votes from users will determine the winner.