عهد FIFA بتصميم كأس جديد مطلي بالبلاتينيوم لتكريم The Best في حفل جوائز The Best لكرة القدم من FIFA. ويشبه الكأس، الذي جاء في نسخ متطابقة لجائزة أفضل لاعب ولاعبة وأفضل مدرب للرجال وأفضل مدرب للسيدات، الكأس الأيقوني لكأس العالم FIFA في تقدير لتقليد قديم بتصميم معاصر وديناميكي. وصمّم الكأس الجديد الفنانة الكرواتية أنا باربيك كاتيسيتش.

وقالت في هذا الصدد: "جاء إلهام تصميم الكأس بهدف تكريم FIFA لأفضل لاعبين العالم. اتفقنا بأنه يجب ألا نبتعد عن التقاليد الكلاسيكية وأن نحترم هوية FIFA الشائعة والمعروفة جيداً."

وتحوّل التصميم، الذي يحتوي على الكرة التي استخدمت لأول مرة في نهائي كأس العالم FIFA بين أوروجواي والأرجنتين في 1930 على قمة جسم أنيق، إلى واقع عن طريق شركة Adon Production AG الواقعة بالقرب من زيوريخ. ويتكون الكأس الذي يبلغ طوله 310 مم ويزن 6.4 كجم من خمسة أجزاء هي القاع، والقاعدة، وقطعة كربون فوق القاعدة، والجسم، والكرة. وصنع الجزء الأخير باستخدام نفس التقنيات الحديثة المستخدمة في صناعة الفضاء والفورومولا 1.

من جهته، قال زفونيمير بوبان، نائب أمين عام FIFA: "تمثّل الكرة التي تعتلي الكأس تاريخ كرة القدم وتاريخ FIFA أيضاً. أرى أن ذلك يمثل قصة رائعة توضح الإحترام لتقاليد كرة القدم مع الحفاظ على الشكل العصري، مما يجعله كأساً تمثل مرحلة ما بعد الحداثة."

FIFA commissioned the design of a new platinum-coated trophy to honour The Best at the inaugural The Best FIFA Football Awards™. The trophy, with identical versions for both men’s and women’s players and coaches, has a shape which resembles the iconic FIFA World Cup™ Trophy, an homage to tradition with a contemporary, dynamic design. The new trophy took shape thanks to Croatian artist Ana Barbic Katicic’s designs.

"The inspiration behind the design of this trophy is to honour the best players in the world for FIFA," Katic explained. "We shared the same beliefs that we should not deviate from classical conventions and to respect the familiar and well-known FIFA identity."

The design, with the ball used in the first World Cup Final played between Uruguay and Argentina in 1930 sitting atop the sleek body, was made into reality by Adon Production AG, a company based just outside Zurich. The trophy - which at 310mm and weighs a substantial 6.4kg - consists of five parts: the bottom, the base, a carbon piece over the base, the body and the ball. The latter part was created using some cutting edge technology, utilised in the aerospace industry and Formula 1.

"The ball on the top of the trophy represents the history of football and the history of FIFA too," FIFA's Deputy Secretary General of Football Zvonimir Boban said. "I believe this is beautiful storytelling, it shows respect for the traditions of football, while maintaining a modern look. This makes it a purely postmodern trophy."