• The Best FIFA Football Awards will take place in London on 23 October
  • There are nine awards to be won
  • Fan voting will play a major part for the second year running

With the countdown well and truly on for the next edition of The Best FIFA Football Awards™ on 23 October in London, many fans around the world have a few big questions - the most important of which is: who will actually take home the prizes? FIFA.com cannot answer that question, yet, but we can provide you with a quickfire crib sheet. Here are five important things to know about The Best awards.

The awards
Nine awards will be handed out in London on Monday 23 October. They are as follows:

* The Best FIFA Men’s Player of 2017
* The Best FIFA Women’s Player of 2017
* The Best FIFA Men’s Coach of 2017
* The Best FIFA Women’s Coach of 2017
* The Best FIFA Goalkeeper of 2017 (new for this year)
* The 2017 FIFA Puskás Award
* The 2017 FIFA Fair Play Award
* The 2017 FIFA Fan Award
* The 2017 FIFA/FIFPro World11

The holders
There were eight awards at the inaugural The Best FIFA Football Awards. The stunning ceremony was held at Zurich's TPC Studios on Monday 9 January 2017, and the winners were as follows:

Cristiano Ronaldo, The Best FIFA Men’s Player of 2016
Carli Lloyd, The Best FIFA Women’s Player of 2016
Claudio Ranieri, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach of 2016
Silvia Neid, The Best FIFA Women’s Coach of 2016
Mohd Faiz Subri, The 2016 FIFA Puskás Award winner
Atletico Nacional, The 2016 FIFA Fair Play Award winner
Borussia Dortmund and Liverpool supporters, The 2016 FIFA Fan Award winners
Manuel Neuer, Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez, Cristiano Ronaldo, The 2016 FIFA/FIFPro World11

The Best trophy
Coated in platinum, the trophy for the men's and women's player and coach awards was designed by Croatian artist Ana Barbic Katicic with identical versions for each gender. Its shape is an homage to the iconic FIFA World Cup™ Trophy and was made into reality by Adon Production AG, a company based just outside Zurich.

* 6.4kg in weight
* 310mm tall
* Five parts: the bottom, the base, carbon piece over the base, the body and the ball

Those named in the FIFA/FIFPro World11 receive miniature versions of The Best trophies, with the designs for the trophies for all other awards differing in style and size from the men's and women's player and coach individual awards.


The host city
Last year Zurich played host to the inaugural awards. The city, where the Home of FIFA is also situated, continued a fine tradition of hosting football's most prestigious awards gala with a glittering ceremony. This year, it is the turn of London, a city where the original Laws of the Game were enshrined in 1863 and the modern form of the beautiful game was born.

The votes
At the inaugural The Best FIFA Football Awards, fans were involved in the decision-making process for the men's and women's individual player and coach awards for the first time, via an online vote on FIFA.com. That will continue this year, with football's four main stakeholders involved in the vote for The Best FIFA Men's and Women's Player and Coach awards, and the respective shortlists to be announced on Thursday 17 August. The results of the voting, which takes place between Monday 21 August and Thursday 7 September, will be split evenly as such:

25 per cent: National team captains
25 per cent: National team coaches
25 per cent: Media (Selected group of over 200 representatives from six continents)
25 per cent: Fans (Via the online voting system on FIFA.com)

The final nominees for those four awards will be announced later in September.

The winners of the FIFA Puskás Award and FIFA Fan Award will be decided solely by a fan vote on FIFA.com, after a panel of experts have decided on the respective shortlists.

The winners of the FIFA Fair Play Award and The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award will be decided by a panel of experts, with the FIFA/FIFPro World11 decided by the votes of thousands of professional players from around the world.