It all started with Lothar Matthaus. The man who captained Germany to victory at the 1990 FIFA World Cup Italy™, cemented his place in the history books by becoming the first ever FIFA World Player of the Year in 1991. 

Twenty-two years later, and it will be the turn of one of football’s current stars to be honoured. In addition to the best player in the men’s game, the Women’s World Player of the Year (awarded since 2001), the Men’s Football Coach of the Year and the Coach of the Year in Women’s Football (both awarded since 2010) will also be chosen in Zurich on 13 January.

Join us on a pictorial trip down memory lane and relive the winners, glamorous appearances and musical performances of every ceremony from 1991 to 2012. Just sit back and enjoy!