In 2009, FIFA and FIFPro joined forces to honour the best 11 players of the year with the FIFA/FIFPro World XI award, which was presented for the first time at the 2009 FIFA World Player Gala.

The FIFA/FIFPro World XI is chosen by over 20,000 professional football players from all over the world, who have voted for the best player in each position. From 2005 to 2008, FIFPro organised its own World XI player award, with the same selection system. The FIFA FIFPro World XI for 2014 will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d’Or award ceremony in Zurich on 12 January 2015.

One goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards will be awarded a place in the the FIFA/FIFPro World XI for 2014. The 2014 nominees are:

Goalkeepers: Claudio Bravo (Chile / FC Barcelona); Gianluigi Buffon (Italy / Juventus FC); Iker Casillas (Spain / Real Madrid CF); Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Chelsea FC); ); Manuel Neuer (Germany / FC Bayern München)

Defenders: David Alaba (Austria / FC Bayern München); Jordi Alba (Spain / FC Barcelona); Dani Alves (Brazil / FC Barcelona); Jerome Boateng (Germany / FC Bayern München); Daniel Carvajal (Spain / Real Madrid CF); Diego Godin (Uruguay / Atlético Madrid); Mats Hummels (Germany / Borussia Dortmund); Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia / Chelsea FC); Vincent Kompany (Belgium / Manchester City FC); Philipp Lahm (Germany / FC Bayern München); Filipe Luis (Brazil / Chelsea FC); David Luiz (Brazil / Paris St-Germain FC); Marcelo (Brazil / Real Madrid CF); Javier Mascherano (Argentina / FC Barcelona); Pepe (Portugal / Real Madrid CF); Gerard Pique (Spain / FC Barcelona); Sergio Ramos (Spain / Real Madrid CF); Thiago Silva (Brazil / Paris St-Germain FC); Raphael Varane (France / Real Madrid CF); Pablo Zabaleta (Argentina / Manchester City FC).

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City FC); Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid CF); Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid CF); Diego Costa (Spain/Chelsea FC); Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris St-Germain FC); Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich); Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona); Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich); Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona); Marco Reus (Germany/Borussia Dortmund); Franck Ribery (France / FC Bayern Munich); Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid CF); Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United FC); Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona).