In 2009, FIFA and FIFPro joined forces to honour the best 11 players of the year with the FIFA/FIFPro World XI award.   The award was presented for the first time at the 2009 FIFA World Player Gala.

The FIFA/FIFPro World XI is chosen by over 50,000 professional football players from all over the world, who vote for the best player in each position. From 2005 to 2008, FIFPro organised its own World XI player award by using the same selection system.

For its first edition, the FIFA/FIFPro World XI rewarded the following players: Iker Casillas (goalkeeper), Dani Alves, Nemanja Vidic, John Terry, Patrice Evra (defenders), Steven Gerrard, Xavi, Andres Iniesta (midfielders), Cristiano Ronaldo, Fernando Torres, Lionel Messi (forwards).

On Thursday 25 November, the 55-name shortlist for 2011, which you can find below, was revealed. The FIFA/FIFPro World XI will be announced on Monday 10 January.


Gianluigi BuffonItalyJuventus FC32
Iker CasillasSpainReal Madrid C.F.29
Petr CechCzech RepublicChelsea FC28
Julio CésarBrazilFC Internazionale31
Edwin van der SarNetherlandsManchester United FC40


Ashley ColeEnglandChelsea FC30
Daniel AlvesBrazilFC Barcelona27
Gareth BaleWalesTottenham Hotspur21
Michel BastosBrazilOlympique Lyonnais27
Patrice EvraFranceManchester United FC29
Rio FerdinandEnglandManchester United FC32
Philipp LahmGermanyFC Bayern München27
LúcioBrazilFC Internazionale32
MaiconBrazilFC Internazionale29
MarceloBrazilReal Madrid C.F.22
Alessandro NestaItalyAC Milan34
PepePortugalReal Madrid C.F.27
Gerard PiqueSpainFC Barcelona23
Carles PuyolSpainFC Barcelona32
Sergio RamosSpainReal Madrid C.F.24
Walter SamuelArgentinaFC Internazionale32
John TerryEnglandChelsea FC30
Thiago SilvaBrazilAC Milan26
Nemanja VidicSerbiaManchester United FC29
Javier ZanettiArgentinaFC Internazionale37


Esteban CambiassoArgentinaFC Internazionale30
Michael EssienGhanaChelsea FC28
Cesc FàbregasSpainArsenal FC23
Steven GerrardEnglandLiverpool FC30
Andrés IniestaSpainFC Barcelona26
KakáBrazilReal Madrid F.F.28
Frank LampardEnglandChelsea FC32
Javier MascheranoArgentina  FC Barcelona26
Thomas MüllerGermanyBayern München21
Mesut ÖzilGermanyReal Madrid C.F.22
Andrea PirloItalyAC Milan31
Bastian SchweinsteigerGermanyBayern München26
Wesley SneijderNetherlandsFC Internazionale26
Xabi AlonsoSpainReal Madrid C.F.29


Dimitar BerbatovBulgariaManchester United FC29
Didier DrogbaIvory CoastChelsea FC32
Samuel Eto’oCameroonFC Internazionale29
Diego ForlánUruguayAtlético Madrid C.F.31
Gonzalo HiguainArgentinaReal Madrid C.F.23
Zlatan IbrahimovicSwedenAC Milan29
Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona23
Diego MilitoArgentinaFC Internazionale31
Arjen RobbenNetherlandsFC Bayern München26
RonaldinhoBrazilAC Milan30
Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid C.F.25
Wayne RooneyEnglandManchester United FC25
Carlos TévezArgentinaManchester City FC26
Fernando TorresSpainLiverpool FC26
David VillaSpainFC Barcelona29