The remaining contenders for the 2008 FIFA World Player and FIFA Women's World Player awards, which will be handed out at the Zurich Opera House on 12 January 2009, were announced on Friday. In alphabetical order, the male nominees are Kaká (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Fernando Torres (Spain), and Xavi (Spain), while Nadine Angerer (Germany), Cristiane (Brazil), Marta (Brazil), Birgit Prinz (Germany) and Kelly Smith (England) will contest the women's award.

Among the exciting modifications which will be introduced at the 2008 FIFA World Player Gala is the participation of five men and five women footballers as opposed to the three players from each category as in previous years.

The above-mentioned nominees were confirmed after a poll in which the coaches and captains of men's and women's national teams from around the world cast their votes on the basis of a list of men's and women's candidates drawn up by FIFA.

In addition, the customary FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will be presented.

For more information about the FIFA World Player Gala, including profiles of the nominees for this year's top awards and a list of previous winners, please click on the link to the right hand side.