A record number of 140 national team coaches voted for their three best players. The number of coaches taking part has steadily increased over the years. Last year, 132 coaches participated, and this year another significant increase was registered as coaches cast their vote.

Since the inception of this event, the voting procedure has largely remained the same. Each coach names the three best players in his opinion and ranks them first (which earns the player 5 points), second (3 points) and third (1 point). However, the regulations state that coaches may not vote for players from their own team.