Only players born in the years 1991, 1992 and 1993 are eligible to play at the Blue Stars/FIFA Youth Cup 2011 at the Buchlern sports facility on 1 and 2 June, although teams can also include up to five players born after 31 December 1993.

Additionally, the event organisers have stipulated that, "In order to strengthen the team or even increase the quality, players without a club license can be fielded, for example a trialist from another club."

Ten teams will participate in total, split into two groups of five. Each team will play the others in their group once, with the top team in each section reaching the final. The two second-placed teams will contest the match for third place, those finishing third will meet in the equilvalent match to decide fifth, and so on until the final positions one to ten have been settled.

The group games and matches for places three to ten will each be played over two 20-minute halves, while the final will have two 25-minute periods. All games will have a five-minute half-time break. In the event of a draw, the final and play-off games will go directly to penalties. There will be no extra time.

There are three pitches at the Buchlern sports facility. The main pitch has a capacity for 6,000 spectators, while Pitch 2 has room for 1,200 and Pitch 3 for 300.