Korea Republic, Japan and United Arab Emirates will be the Asian representatives at London 2012 after finishing top of their respective qualifying groups.

Oman missed out on qualification after losing a play-off to Senegal.


    Preliminary Round: Home & away, 14 teams, winners advance to next round. Dates: 8-10 October and 17-19 December 2010;
    First Round: Home & away, 32 teams (7 winners + 25 higher ranked teams), winners advance to next round: Dates: 25-27 March and 08-10 April 2011;
    Second Round: Home & away, 16 teams, winners advance to next round. Dates: 3-5 June and 17-19 June 2011;
    Final Tournament: Hosted by Morocco. Two groups with 4 teams, dates set as 26 November to 10 December 2011. The top three teams will represent CAF at the Olympic Football Tournament London 2012.
    Play-off: The fourth-placed team will contest the play-off match with the Asian team.

    Gabon beat Senegal in the opening semi-final on 6 December to become the first African team to qualify.
    Morocco became the second team to qualify after defeating Egypt in a semi-final on 7 December.
    Egypt became the third team to qualify, following a 2-0 win over Senegal in the third-placed play-off.
    Senegal won a play-off 2-0 against Oman at the City of Coventry Stadium on Monday 23 April 2012 to take the final qualifying place.


      By virtue of reaching the final of the 2011 UEFA European Under-21 Championship, Spain and Switzerland have qualified for London 2012. The third and final European place went to Belarus who defeated fellow defeated semi-finalists Czech Republic 1-0 in a play-off in Aalborg.


        Honduras and Mexico will be the North, Central, and Caribbean region’s representatives at London 2012 after winning their respective semi-final matches against El Salvador and Canada in an eight-nation qualifying tournament played in the USA between 22 March and 2 April 2012. 


          New Zealand will represent the OFC at London 2012 in the Men's Olympic Football Tournament after they sealed a 1-0 win over Fiji to claim victory in the seven-team qualifying tournament hosted by the victors between 16 and 24 March.


            Brazil and Uruguay, the two finalists at the CONMEBOL U-20 tournament in Peru, held from 16 January-12 February 2011, qualified directly for the Men's Olympic Football Tournament London 2012.

              Host Country

              GREAT BRITAIN, as the host country, qualifies automatically.