Questions and answers

1. A goal clearance or free kick to the defending team is taken in that team’s own penalty area. Shall the chronometer be started before the ball leaves the penalty area?
No. The chronometer shall be started once the ball is in play.

2. Who shall determine whether a goal was scored before, at the same time as, or after the acoustic signal has sounded at the end of a period of play?
The referee. If an offence occurs that results in a direct free kick without a wall, a kick from the second penalty mark or a penalty, it is also up to the referee to decide whether the incident occurred before, at the same time as, or after the acoustic signal.

3. The timekeeper sounds the acoustic signal by mistake while the ball is in play. What action shall the referees take?
If the acoustic signal does not prompt any action that prejudices either team, the referee shall wave play on. If the match has to be stopped, play shall restart with a dropped ball at the place where the ball was located when the match was interrupted*.

4. A player leaves the pitch without the referees’ permission, for reasons that are not deemed acceptable in the Futsal Laws of the Game. Shall the third referee or timekeeper inform the referees?
Yes, if the advantage rule cannot be applied. If not, the acoustic signal shall be sounded to alert the referees. Where it is necessary to stop play, the referees shall punish the player’s team with an indirect free kick from the place where the ball was located when the offence was committed*. If the advantage rule was applied, the acoustic signal shall be sounded at the next stoppage in play. The player shall be cautioned for deliberately leaving the pitch without the referees’ permission.

5. After a stoppage in play, the timekeeper forgets to restart the chronometer. What action shall the referees take?
They shall order the unrecorded time to be added.

 
 
More on 'The timekeeper and the third referee'... Previous out of 5 Next
 
 
Disclaimer |  Notes Close Window