|Questions and answers
1. A player commits an offence that, according to Law 12, must be
penalised with a direct free kick, but the ball is not in play. What action
shall the referees take?
An offence has been committed, but not a foul. Consequently, it shall
not be recorded as an accumulated foul. Depending on the nature of
the offence committed, the referees shall decide whether or not to
take disciplinary measures.
2. While the ball is in play, a substitute commits an offence that is punishable
by a direct free kick. What action shall the referees take?
If the substitute infringed the substitution procedure, an indirect free
kick shall be awarded against his team in the event that the advantage
rule cannot be applied, to be taken from the place where the ball was
located at the time of the stoppage*. However, no accumulated foul
shall be recorded against his team, irrespective of whether advantage
was played or not.
The referees shall take the appropriate disciplinary measures.
3. The referees play advantage after an offence which, if play had been
stopped, would have led to the match being restarted with a direct
free kick. Shall they record an accumulated foul against the offending
player’s team once the ball has gone out of play?
Yes. If the referees applied the advantage rule, they shall subsequently
indicate to the timekeeper and the third referee that an accumulated
foul is to be recorded against the offending player’s team by giving
a signal consisting of raising their right arms and index fi ngers and
pointing their left arms towards the goal of the team that committed
If the player in question is guilty of misconduct, he shall be sanctioned
when the ball next goes out of play.
4. Two players on different sides commit a foul punishable by a direct
free kick at exactly the same time. Shall these fouls be recorded as
No, because play shall be restarted with a dropped ball at the place
where the ball was located when the fouls were committed*.