Becamex Binh Duong were crowned V.League champions for the first time in six years with a game to spare on Sunday.

A 3-1 win against Dong Tam Long An helped them see off the challenge of nearest rivals and AFC Cup quarter-finalists Hanoi T&T, who last won the crown in 2012.

Knowing they only had to match Hanoi T&T's results in the final two games of the season to win the league, Binh Duong broke the deadlock within 60 seconds at the Long An Stadium courtesy of Dang Van Thanh's strike.

Abass Cheik Dieng duly doubled the visitors' advantage on the half-hour mark, before he bagged his second and Binh Duong's third of the evening seven minutes later.

Ganiyu Bolaji Oseni reduced the deficit in first half stoppage time, but his goal could not stop Binh Duong winning their third top-flight title after they opened up an unassailable four-point lead over Hanoi T&T who lost 2-1 to SHB Da Nang.

Trinidad and Tobago international Hughtun Hector had given Hanoi T&T the lead after only 18 minutes, but goals after the break from Matias Zbrun and Nguyen Vu Phong duly ended Hanoi's title aspirations.

Hanoi T&T will now look to seek some consolation when they begin their AFC Cup quarter-final campaign against Iraq’s Arbil at home on 19 August, with the return leg a week later.