Kuwait SC were crowned AFC Cup champions for the second time in four years with a one-sided 4-0 win over Arbil at the Iraqi club's Francouse Al Hareeri Stadium on Saturday.

A full house turned out to support Nizar Mahrous's side as they sought to become the first Iraqi side to win the AFC Cup, but the Kuwaitis continued their hoodoo over the Iraqis to lift the title and emulate the achievement of Jordanian club Al Faisaly.

Kuwait SC's win comes three years after their first success in 2009 and a year after losing in the final to Nasaf from Uzbekistan, but there was to be no such disappointment for Ion Marin and his side this time around.

The two sides had met in the knockout stages of the competition on two previous occasions – in 2009 in the quarter-finals and in the semi-finals last year – and on both occasions Kuwait SC emerged victorious.

And it was not to be third time lucky for Arbil as Chadi Hammami gave Kuwait SC the perfect start when he converted from the penalty spot just two minutes into the game and, with three minutes remaining in the first half, player of the match Rogerinho doubled the lead effectively killing off the contest.

Abdulhadi Khamis then scored on the break with just seven minutes remaining to put the result beyond any doubt, and with just seconds left Hammami slotted home to complete the rout.

Arbil striker Amjad Radhi consoled himself with finishing as the tournament's joint top scorer, with his nine goals in 12 games putting the 22-year-old equal with Raja Rafe of Syrian club Al Shorta.