Persipura secured their third Indonesian league title with three matches to spare on Wednesday.

The club, based in the city of Jayapura, scored a 2-1 away win at Persisam from Samarinda to provide an unassailable lead over their nearest challengers – Persija, Arema and Semen Padang.

The club had earlier won the title in 2005 and 2009; with three championships in the semi-professional era (which started in 1979/80). Persipura have equalled the record of NIAC Mitra from Surabaya (three titles in the 80s) and Pelita Jaya from Jakarta (three titles between 1988 and 1994).